Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules
Last-pocket 8-ball is a popular eight-ball variant that can help you hone your skills. These last-pocket 8 ball rules will explain how to play last pocket 8 ball.
Last pocket eight ball is a variation on the very popular game of eight ball. Last pocket eight ball is played the same way as regular eight ball throughout the game, with a slight variation at the end.
In last pocket eight ball, the requirement is that you must pocket the eight ball in the same pocket where your last object ball was made. For example, if you are shooting solids and you made your final solid ball in the far left pocket, then that far left pocket is considered your last pocket, and is the pocket in which you must make the eight ball.
If your opponent pockets your last ball by mistake, your last pocket is still the pocket in which that ball was made. This puts a significant spin on the end of a game of 8 ball, and can dramatically change one's strategy.
Most last-pocket 8-ball rules say that you can not have the same last pocket as your opponent. The first player to take a pocket as their last pocket is considered to "have that pocket". If the opponent pockets their last ball in the same pocket, the first player gets to nominate any other pocket for the opponent's last pocket.
Here are some ideas for a strategical end to a game of last pocket eight ball.
- If you notice your opponent is close to his or last object ball, you may assess the location of the 8 ball in relation to where the opponent may pocket that last ball. It may be a good decision for you to relocate that 8 ball if you have a shot.
- If you are close to running out, you may choose a specific pattern as such that your last object ball is near the 8 ball and that the cluster is near a pocket.
- Do as the one pocket players do, and ensure that you leave the ball close to a pocket if you think there is a chance you'll miss the shot.
- If you are playing your inning at the table, and your opponent has only the eight ball remaining, you may be wise to relocate it as far from their last pocket as possible, or to a location where his or her clear shot to their last pocket is obstructed by one of your object balls.
- If you are in a position to be nominating your opponent's last pocket (e.g. in the case where they shoot their last ball into your last pocket), remember that most players consider the side pockets to be more difficult than corner pockets.
In conclusion, the last pocket 8 ball rule can make the game of eight ball more interesting, and perhaps last a little longer.
Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules
If you have any questions about Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules, please post them in the pool rules forum.
Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules History
Apparently, last pocket eight ball was created by players to slow down the tail-end of the 8-ball game on coin operated and other billiard tables where table fees are paid per game rather than by the hour.
The official Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules are predominently observed in North America, Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic.
The official governing body for Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules is the Billiard Congress of America.
How to Play Last Pocket Eight Ball
Questions about Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules:
- Title: Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules
- Author: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)
- Published: 6/15/2008 9:44:00 AM
- Last Updated: 2/4/2018 5:37:13 AM
- Last Updated By: billiardsforum
- Source: Internet
Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules
The Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules article belongs to the Pocket Billiards Rules category. Pocket billiards is a class of cue sport game commonly referred to as pool.
Last Pocket Eight Ball Rules Comments
- Jo Dan from Rice Lake, WI on 1/8/2009 7:10:59 PM
What happens when the opposing player puts their last ball in your last pocket? Where is their last pocket?
- user1238435187 from San Juan, PR on 3/30/2009 5:46:27 PM
I have found that the game of "last pocket eight ball" is usually played by half drunk, poorly talented individuals who want to greedily hoard the use of a public pool table.
- urfes from dallas,tx on 4/10/2009 6:13:32 PM
What happen is I make the 8 ball in the pocket is corresponding but after do it the wite ball go in too?
- smitty from harrow on 4/11/2009 5:43:14 AM
In last pocket 8 ball rules, if the last object ball is sunk, and only the 8 ball remains, but they sourred sinking there last ball, do they lose?
- Jose Vazquez from United Kingdom on 5/9/2009 11:46:43 PM
Puerto Rico is a place in which last pocket 8ball is played a lot. If the shooter sinks his last group ball in your pocket then you in turn choose his pocket, it will still be his shot.
- joey from tampa on 6/8/2009 9:48:11 PM
If you scratch in last pocket do u win or lose?
- Gooch from La Puente, CA on 7/6/2009 7:02:21 AM
In a game of last pocket if your opponets ball is blocking your last pocket can you knock in his ball first so that your 8 ball can fall in the same pocket? (I guess you can call it a kind of follow the leader type shot.)
- Johnny from San Antonio, TX on 2/23/2010 10:00:29 PM
In last pocket, if you make the 8 ball and scratch, do you spot the 8 ball?
- Willie from MI on 4/17/2010 8:12:20 AM
It was realy no help to me. I was trying to to find out when playing last pocket billiards, if I shoot my last 2 balls in one shot, do I get to choose which one is my last pocket or is it the last ball that went in?
- Che Cazzo from Chicago, IL on 10/28/2010 12:19:26 AM
@Willie - Last pocket a ball went into is the way to go. I've played lots of variations including "8 ball straight in", "call your pocket for the 8", and "8 ball in the last pocket", and 8 ball in the last pocket is the way to go.
@user1238435187 from San Juan, PR - If you know how to run the table and set up your shots then there is no reason to cry. Get some talent behind your cue first, then open your mouth. 8 ball last pocket is actually meant to be a more skillful game. Just because you might have to 2-rail, 3-rail, or even 4-rail your 8 ball or cue ball to win that just makes you learn your angles. This is what the marks, diamonds, or whatever you want to call them, are for. So quit your crying and get some talent.
- Typeaux from San Francisco, CA on 2/11/2011 4:30:33 PM
To Jo Dan: In most of the halls where I've played last-pocket 8-ball, opposing players cannot have the same last pocket. The first player who sinks a ball in a particular pocket "owns" that pocket. If his opponent sinks his last ball in your last pocket, you now can designate another pocket as your opponent's. There are even rules here -- if you own a corner pocket, you can designate one of the three other corner pockets only, but not either of the side pockets. If you own a side pocket (generally considered bad strategy), your opponent automatically is assigned the opposite side pocket. That's the way the endgame is played in the better halls I've played.
- Typeaux from San Francisco, CA on 2/11/2011 5:23:17 PM
To Jo Dan: In the nicer pool halls where I've played Last Pocket 8-ball, the player who sinks their last ball "owns" that pocket. If his or her opponent sinks their last ball in the same pocket, the first player gets to assign the player a different pocket as follows: If corner pocket is contested, the first player can designate any of the three other corners for the opponent. If the last pocket is a side pocket (considered weak strategy), the opponent is automatically given the opposite side pocket.
To user1238435187 in San Juan, PR - I know a lot of well-heeled players who enjoy last-pocket 8-ball in some of the better pool halls. However, I have seen the kind of people you mention.
To Urfes from Dallas - Sinking the cue (white) ball on the same shot as the last pocket shot constitutes a foul and your opponent gets ball in hand anywhere on the table.
To Smitty in Harrow - I'm not sure I understand your question. What do you mean "soured by sinking there last ball"? Are you asking if they scratch the cue at the same time as sinking their last ball? No, they don't lose automatically, but if only the 8-ball remains, the opponent gets ball in hand, and it's pretty much over.
To Jose from Puerto Rico - I agree with your rules, but the common variation is that if it's a corner you get to pick any other corner, and if it's the side pocket, it's automatically the opposite side.
To Joey from Tampa - No, you don't lose on a scratch on the last pocket. If you sink the 8-ball and scratch, it's pretty much a forfeit, though.
To Gooch from La Puente - It is a foul for you to strike an opponent's ball with the cue ball. If one of his balls is blocking your 8-ball pocket, the best you can do is to use the 8-ball to move their ball. Otherwise, it is a foul and they get ball in hand, anywhere on the table.
To Willie in Michigan - The last ball that drops determines your last pocket. If you and your opponent agree that they fell at the same time, then you get to choose. If you don't agree which ball fell last, flip a coin (not in the rule book, but seems fair enough to me...)
- Gilbert Quiles from Tampa, FL on 7/31/2011 1:14:29 PM
If you sink your last ball in the same pocket as your opponent, then your opponent must choose you pocket. If you sink your opponent's last ball, your opponent must indicate which is his last pocket before you resume your shot. If you scratch will trying to sink the 8 Ball [Last Pocket 6 Ball] you DO NOT lose.
- Nate from Jackson, MS on 10/10/2011 3:28:49 AM
Playing last ball, other guy has three balls on table. Guy miss's and I sink last ball in corner and miss the eight in pocket. But it is still in pocket for me. Its the other guy shoot and he hits the cue ball in to real and knock the eight out pocket. But he has three balls on table and didnt shoot at his ball to block me.
- Queen B from Home on 12/28/2011 5:43:45 PM
If I hit the 8 ball in his pocket but I have one group ball to hit in do I lose?
- Gilbert Quiles from Tampa, FL on 1/8/2012 10:00:27 PM
Here is a summary of common situations in rules of Last Pocket 8 Ball:
- To win you must sink the 8 ball in the pocket into which you sank your last ball.
- If you sink the 8 ball and scratch, you lose.
- If you shoot at the 8 Ball and miss, and scratch, you don't lose.
- If you sink your opponent's last ball, your opponent must indicate his last pocket (and he can not change it afterwards) before you resume your shoot.
- There is NO "Ball-In-Hand" in Last Pocket 8 Ball. If you sink your last 2 balls with one shot (e.g. unintentionally), you must choose your pocket before you resume your shoot (and you can not change it afterwards).
- Robert Nicolaas from FL, United States on 3/16/2015 3:17:38 PM
In last pocket eight ball, consider this scenario.
Let's say you have the eight ball and your opponent has just one ball on the table. You bank the eight ball and before the eight ball falls into the pocket, the cue ball hits his ball and pocket his ball.
Do you lose your game in this scenario?
- Reynold Feliciano from Cabo Rojo, PR on 8/11/2015 1:25:58 PM
If the 8-ball is your object ball and your opponent's object ball, and you already have the last ball's pocket chosen and you do not hit the 8-ball, do you lose or not?
- Raymond Franklin from Houston, TX on 8/25/2016 1:21:18 PM
In last-pocket eight ball, if I play the 8-ball on the break, do I win or lose?
- Keith Medas from Taunton, MA on 3/13/2017 2:46:44 AM
In last-pocket 8 ball, what happens when you shoot your last ball into your pocket, which now you own, then the cue ball came around and knocks the 8-ball into the pocket where you own?
Do you win or lose?
- loubaru from Ocean Beach, CA on 6/28/2017 1:38:06 PM
Where did last pocket 8 ball originate and who started the "last pocket" craze?
Reply and share your comments below: