log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can You Pocket your Last Ball and 8 Ball in Same Shot?


Can You Pocket your Last Ball and 8 Ball in Same Shot?

In last-pocket 8 ball, can you pocket your last object ball and the 8 ball in the same shot?

For example, what happens when you shoot your last ball into a pocket (designating it now as your "last pocket"), then the cue ball came around and knocks the 8-ball into that same pocket?

Do you win or lose?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Can You Pocket your Last Ball and 8 Ball in Same Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. Keith Medasbilliardsforum on 3/23/2019 9:50:16 AM

    You lose the game when you pocket a ball and the 8 ball also falls into a pocket incidentally. Two rules apply:

    • You lose the rack if you pocket the eight ball in an uncalled pocket
    • The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter's group has been cleared from the table.

    You didn't legally call the 8 ball, and since you didn't (because you couldn't), you lose.

    See the answer on 8 Ball Rolls in After Pocketing Last Ball for a more detailed look at why it is a loss of game, and for references to applicable WPBA 8 ball rule sections.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can You Pocket your Last Ball and 8 Ball in Same Shot?

  • Title: Can You Pocket your Last Ball and 8 Ball in Same Shot?
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/13/2017 2:46:44 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2019 9:44:51 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)