log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Accidentally Pocket the 8 Ball in "Last Pocket" 8 Ball


Accidentally Pocket the 8 Ball in "Last Pocket" 8 Ball

I was playing a pool game we call "last pocket" 8 ball. Basically the same as 8-ball, except that I must pocket the 8 ball into which ever pocket I sink my last group object ball into.

I need to know what happens if the cue ball accidentally pockets the 8 ball on the same shot as when you pocketed your last ball?

What happened was, my opponent had one solid ball left, and the 8 ball. He hits his solid ball and that goes in the top right corner pocket, and at the same time, the cue ball rebounds, hits the 8 ball, the 8 ball bounces off the rail, and goes in.

Was that a legal shot? If so, was it a win for him since he did it in one turn?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Accidentally Pocket the 8 Ball in "Last Pocket" 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. pacificpostbilliardsforum on 6/2/2011 1:11:22 AM

    You lose the game in this case.

    Last-pocket eight-ball follows the rules of standard 8 ball pool, which says that the 8-ball must be pocketed on it's own shot, and that shot must be legally "called"

    If the 8 ball does go into an un-called pocket, that's a "serious foul" and you lose the game.

    Here is the World Pool-Billiards Association eight ball rule 3.6, which says that every shot must be called (except for the break) and that the 8 ball may only be called AFTER all of that player's object balls are pocketed:

    3.6 - Shots Required to Be Called

    On each shot except the break, shots must be called as explained in 1.6 Standard Call Shot. The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table. The shooter may call “safety” in which case play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot and any object ball pocketed on the safety remains pocketed.

    This rule makes it impossible for your opponent to have legally called the 8 ball in the scenario you described. Since he couldn't have legally called the 8 ball, rule 3.8(c) says he lost the game because he pocketed the eight ball in an uncalled pocket:

    3.8 - Losing the Rack

    The shooter loses if he:

    • (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    • (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    • (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
    • (d) drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot.

    So in summary your opponent lost the game because he didn't (and couldn't have) legally called the 8-ball and target pocket.

  2. pacificpostFenwick on 6/3/2011 1:28:02 PM

    No it is not a legal shot.

    The 8-ball must be made on it's own legally called shot.

  3. pacificpostNursey1313 on 7/26/2011 3:28:33 AM

    Correct.

    As far as I know, in any game of pool, you cannot make the last ball and the 8-ball in one single shot.

    If your opponent did that, then you won that game for sure.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Accidentally Pocket the 8 Ball in "Last Pocket" 8 Ball

  • Title: Accidentally Pocket the 8 Ball in "Last Pocket" 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/2/2011 11:15:02 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2019 8:45:33 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)