log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Accidentally Pocket Opponent's Ball in Last-Pocket 8-Ball


Accidentally Pocket Opponent's Ball in Last-Pocket 8-Ball

In last pocket eight ball, consider this scenario:

Let's say you are now shooting to pocket the eight ball, and your opponent has just one object ball left on the table.

You shoot the cue ball into the eight ball, bank the eight ball, and before the eight ball falls into the correct last pocket, the cue ball hits his ball and pocket his ball.

Do you lose the game or do you win the game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Accidentally Pocket Opponent's Ball in Last-Pocket 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Robert Nicolaasbilliardsforum on 3/23/2019 8:20:48 AM

    You win the game in this scenario.

    Nothing specific about "last-pocket 8 ball" rules apply to this scenario, so we fall back to standard 8 ball rules.

    You can do what you did, and your opponents ball can go in a pocket , and you are still good as long as your shot was legal.

    Your shot was legal because you met the following:

    1. Cue ball hit one of your object balls first (in this case, the 8 ball).
    2. Your called ball went in the called pocket.
    3. No other fouls were committed.

    Order of events is irrelevant, and you don't even need to call any of those incidental details.

    Local spots may have their own "house rules" but if they are following World Pool-Billiards Association rules (WPBA), then you are totally good.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Accidentally Pocket Opponent's Ball in Last-Pocket 8-Ball

  • Title: Accidentally Pocket Opponent's Ball in Last-Pocket 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/16/2015 3:17:38 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2019 7:59:20 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)