log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocket Your Last Ball then Cue Ball Knocks in the 8 Ball


Pocket Your Last Ball then Cue Ball Knocks in the 8 Ball

In last pocket 8 ball, do you win or lose if you hit your last ball in a pocket and the cue ball then hits the 8 ball into the pocket immediately after, in the same shot.

Do you win or lose in this case?

Thanks for your time and hopefully the answer to my question.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocket Your Last Ball then Cue Ball Knocks in the 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Sherard Andrewsbilliardsforum on 11/25/2017 6:06:22 AM

    Last Pocket Eight Ball follows the rules of standard 8 ball for the most part. In North America, many consider the World Pool-Billiards Association rules to be the standard. Based on that:

    Rule 3.8c says that the shooter loses if he pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket.

    3.8 Losing the Rack

    The shooter loses if he

    (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket;

    From the way you described the shot, it sounds like you did not call the 8 ball nor the pocket it was supposed to go into. Since you did not call the ball nor the pocket, you lose.

    Furthermore, Rule 3.6 says that every shot must be called (except for the break) AND says:

    The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter's group has been cleared from the table.

    This rule makes it impossible for you to have called the 8 ball in the scenario as you described it.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocket Your Last Ball then Cue Ball Knocks in the 8 Ball

  • Title: Pocket Your Last Ball then Cue Ball Knocks in the 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/25/2017 1:53:38 AM
  • Last Updated: 11/25/2017 5:52:33 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)