log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Same Last Pocket as Opponent in Last Pocket 8 Ball


Same Last Pocket as Opponent in Last Pocket 8 Ball

Playing last pocket 8-ball, what happens when your opponent has the same last pocket as you?

Can two players have the same last pocket in last pocket 8 ball?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Same Last Pocket as Opponent in Last Pocket 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1517729844billiardsforum on 2/4/2018 5:29:01 AM

    This is an un-documented situation and is usually to be clarified before starting the game.

    However, the most common way people play last pocket 8 ball is that you can not have the same last pocket as your opponent. If your opponent ends up with the same last pocket as you, you get to choose which pocket will be their last pocket.

    Here are four different folks confirming this from various other 8-ball forums:

    A few folks confirming this to be a "generally known" standard part of the last-pocket eight ball rules:

    One rule that we also liked was that both players could not have the same last pocket.

    forums.azbilliards.com/showpost.php?p=4172674&postcount=12


    That is a standard Last Pocket rule, in my experience. If you take the same last pocket as the first established player, said player gets to pick your last pocket.

    forums.azbilliards.com/showpost.php?p=4172699&postcount=13

    And two more players confirming it in a different thread:

    In Puerto Rico, if you pocket the last ball in your opponent's pocket, your opponent can nominate your pocket, including side pockets.

    forums.azbilliards.com/showpost.php?p=2168866&postcount=17


    I've always played that the opponent gets to pick the shooter's last pocket (if the shooter makes their last ball in the opponent's last pocket)...even choosing the side pocket. I've also seen it played where the shooter's pocket, in this circumstance, became the opposite pocket (on the other end of the table).

    forums.azbilliards.com/showpost.php?p=2169684&postcount=20

  2. user1517729844Priya Beharry on 2/8/2018 2:15:52 AM

    So in the last pocket 8 ball scenario above, if the opposite player shot his last ball in my pocket, and I choose a pocket for him as his last pocket, who turn is next to play at this point?

  3. user1517729844billiardsforum on 2/17/2018 3:42:22 PM

    You would designate your opponent's last pocket (presumably you would pick the one with the most difficult shot for him or her), and your opponent proceeds to the table for his next shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Same Last Pocket as Opponent in Last Pocket 8 Ball

  • Title: Same Last Pocket as Opponent in Last Pocket 8 Ball
  • Author: (Chip Davis)
  • Published: 2/4/2018 2:37:26 AM
  • Last Updated: 2/4/2018 5:16:54 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)