log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Cue Ball Misses the 8 Ball Completely in Last Pocket 8 Ball


Cue Ball Misses the 8 Ball Completely in Last Pocket 8 Ball

What happens if you are shooting for the eight ball and completely miss it with the cue ball?

Here is the scenario:

Both players have pocketed all of their object balls and have designated "last pockets". One of the players takes a shot, and the cue ball doesn't hit the 8 ball at all.

Do you lose the game or not?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Cue Ball Misses the 8 Ball Completely in Last Pocket 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Reynold Felicianobilliardsforum on 3/23/2019 8:33:00 AM

    You do not lose the game

    In last pocket 8 ball, you don't lose the game for a standard foul. It IS, however, a foul, your inning ends, and your opponent takes the table.

    The foul is "No Rail After Contact" according to World Pool-Billiard Association rules:

    6.3 No Rail after Contact

    If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul.

    This particular foul is NOT listed in the offences for which you lose the game.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Cue Ball Misses the 8 Ball Completely in Last Pocket 8 Ball

  • Title: Cue Ball Misses the 8 Ball Completely in Last Pocket 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 8/11/2015 1:25:58 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2019 8:30:04 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)