log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Safety on the 8 Ball in Last Pocket 8-Ball


Safety on the 8 Ball in Last Pocket 8-Ball

What happens if a player purposely plays a safety on the 8 ball in last-pocket 8-ball?

If both players are going for the eight ball and the current player sees that the eight ball is to close to another pocket and purposely "shoots to miss" or shoots the other way, does he lose?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Safety on the 8 Ball in Last Pocket 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1527978455gibson on 6/19/2018 2:50:08 PM

    You can always play a safety in LP 8-ball, unless you pocket the ball in a pocket other than your last pocket when calling a safety.

    There might be some other factors at play. If your last pocket 8-ball rules are strict no-slop rules where all caroms, rails, and banks have to be called, then you might have to call your 8-ball shot if it is not straight in to your last pocket (such as a 3 rail bank into your last pocket).

    Without that restriction, I don't see why you would have a reason to make a call on your 8 ball, since there is only one pocket into which you can put it. A safety, by nature, is a called shot, so it would not be necessary since you either make the shot or you don't.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Safety on the 8 Ball in Last Pocket 8-Ball

  • Title: Safety on the 8 Ball in Last Pocket 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/2/2018 6:27:36 PM
  • Last Updated: 6/4/2018 6:07:23 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)