log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Last Pocket Rules Opponent Scratches on His Last Ball


Last Pocket Rules Opponent Scratches on His Last Ball

Playing last pocket pool, my opponent, while hitting his last object ball in he scratched on the cue ball. I stated that because he scratched, he forfeited his last pocket, so I would choose what pocket to hit the 8 ball into. Am I right?

I have found the similar topic Scratching on my Last Ball Before the 8 Ball but it doesn't have an answer yet, and it isn't exactly the same as what I am asking.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Last Pocket Rules Opponent Scratches on His Last Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. david navabilliardsforum on 8/27/2018 5:08:42 PM

    Yes, you are correct assuming I am understanding the scenario correctly.

    Your opponent fouled on his last object ball. This can be handled in a few ways, none of which are formally documented. You have to decide with your opponent before the game starts. You can either:

    1. Let the pocket in which the ball dropped be their last pocket.
    2. You get to determine their last pocket.

    I've seen it played both ways. See more on this at the previous question: Scratching on Last Object Ball in Last Pocket 8 Ball.

    Either way, you are now up at the table, and if you are shooting your last ball before the eight ball, then where ever you pocket that will be YOUR "last pocket".

    But - there is one clarification. The way you wrote your question implies that you think you get to just pick any pocket as your "last pocket" but this is not the case. Your last pocket would be whichever pocket contains the last ball you legally pocketed.

  2. david navadavid nava on 8/27/2018 8:02:10 PM

    I meant that I picked my oponent’s last pocket since he scratched with his last object ball.

    Or did he lose the match by scratching with his last ball?

  3. david navabilliardsforum on 3/20/2019 7:27:10 PM

    No, not a loss of game to scratch on his last object ball. Just loss of inning, and you get ball-in-hand.

    For info on determination of his last pocket, see the link in my last reply.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Last Pocket Rules Opponent Scratches on His Last Ball

  • Title: Last Pocket Rules Opponent Scratches on His Last Ball
  • Author: (David Navarro)
  • Published: 8/26/2018 5:38:33 PM
  • Last Updated: 8/28/2018 3:44:36 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)