log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

3 Rail Final Shot in "Last Pocket 8 Ball"

3 Rail Final Shot in "Last Pocket 8 Ball"

I have a question about the rules of last pocket 8 ball and this is a problem I run up against every so often.

The 8 ball is hanging in a pocket other than my designated "last pocket" and it is in too deep to get out.

Normally this would be a "3 rail or better" shot, but the opponent still has object balls on the table and claims that I cannot go for the 3 rail shot on my turn because he still has balls on the table.

What is the rule here?

Do I have to take a shot on my turn to miss and wait for opponent to clear his balls, or can I go for the 3 rail shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

3 Rail Final Shot in "Last Pocket 8 Ball"

Replies & Comments

  1. Vytasbilliardsforum on 11/22/2016 12:32:58 PM

    Your opponent is wrong (if I understand the scenario correctly).

    Are you saying that for your shot, since you can't pocket the 8 ball in your owned pocket, you are going to try to drive the cue ball to a rail (in order to keep the shot legal)?

    Can you clarify the shot and strategy you are going for when you are in this situation?

  2. VytasVytas on 11/22/2016 2:26:13 PM

    The game is 8 ball last pocket (no same last).

    Say my last pocket is the bottom right and my opponent has 2 balls left. On my turn, the 8 ball is too deep in the top right pocket to get out without pocketing it.

    Normally we would play a "3 rail shot" to win, but since he still has balls on the table, he claims I cannot go for the finish until he has cleared his object calls.

    Am I allowed to take the "3 rail shot" to close out my turn while he still has balls on the table?

  3. Vytasbilliardsforum on 11/22/2016 4:01:02 PM

    Its clear now... it is known as the "3-rail kick" rule for Last Pocket 8 ball.

    There's usually a "3-Rail Kick" rule in Last Pocket 8-Ball to cover this situation. If the 8 is hanging in the jaws of a non-last pocket, the player can shoot a minimum 3-rail kick to pocket the 8 into the non-last pocket and still win the game.

    I couldn't find any "official" written rule for that situation you talked about though. There are so many local variants of last pocket 8 ball and this aspect of the rules varies.

    I found two written cases where it states:

    As long as both players agree that the 8 ball is "stuck" and can not be dug out (or in tournaments, the team captains must both agree) then the player can do the 3-rail option.

    One case, in Apple River Pool League's last pocket 8 ball rules, it specifically states that this can be done "at any time":

    1. Players have “3” rail minimum option on the 8 ball at any time.


    Perhaps most importantly, I could NOT find even a single reference of any rule of waiting until your opponent clears all of their balls. Only that the player doing the three-rail shot must verbally notify the opponent (from the Sheboygan 8 Ball League):

    A player must make the “8” ball in their last pocket or declare a 3 rail or more on the cue ball, not the “8” ball. (You no longer have to call 3 or more rails.) If a player decides to shoot a 3 rail shot, she or he must let her opponent know verbally.

    Some cases allow this only if the 8 ball is hung in a neutral pocket.

    In any case, I think you have what you need to win your argument. Please let me know if you find anything that contradicts what is here.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


3 Rail Final Shot in "Last Pocket 8 Ball"

  • Title: 3 Rail Final Shot in "Last Pocket 8 Ball"
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/22/2016 9:30:45 AM
  • Last Updated: 11/22/2016 2:40:07 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)