log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Hung in Opponent's Pocket in Last Pocket 8 Ball

8 Ball Hung in Opponent's Pocket in Last Pocket 8 Ball

What is the ruling in Last Pocket 8 Ball if the 8 ball is hung in the opponent's designated pocket?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Hung in Opponent's Pocket in Last Pocket 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. ABergbilliardsforum on 12/23/2020 4:15:23 PM

    You've not left many details. I will make some assumptions:

    • Your opponent has pocketed all of their object balls (assumed this because according to your question, your opponent actually has a "designated pocket" at this point)
    • I'm also assuming it is your shot now? (If it were your opponent's shot, it should be very easy to win the game for them, given that the 8 ball rests squarely on the edge of their designated pocket)
    • You either have object balls remaining, OR, you are shooting at the 8 ball as well, but can't really do that because of where it sits.

    The "3-Rail Shot on 8 Ball if 8-Ball is Hung" ruling doesn't apply here as the 8 ball isn't hung in a neutral pocket (but rather, it is hung in a designated pocket).

    Either way, I'm afraid there's no ruling that applies. You just have some bad luck perhaps.

    Based on the scenario, your opponent will eventually win the game.

    If I have misunderstood your question, please clarify with adequate details.

  2. ABergRayMills on 12/24/2020 5:32:40 AM

    It sounds like the only option is to jump the cue ball to fall behind the 8 ball (and probably scratch), knocking it some distance away from the pocket. An additional miracle would be for the cue ball to bounce back onto the table!

    Another miracle would be to hand the cue ball to the opponent and hope he can't stand the pressure...

    Ah, wait a minute: One way to prevent a scratch when the cue ball is obviously going to go into a close-by pocket is to hit it so hard that the cue ball bounces off the back of the pocket rim and doesn't have a chance to fall downward. Maybe this could be done with the 8-ball!

  3. ABergABerg on 12/24/2020 8:16:22 AM

    This is the one scenario where the game is no longer a game.

    It is your turn, you are both shooting at the 8 ball and your opponent's shot jawed the pocket and any attempt at touching the 8 ball would put it in your opponents pocket and you are going to lose.

    With a game that tries so hard to have strategy and be different, this is the one flaw that comes up more often than not without a clear ruling and a one sided victory regardless of coming into your turn. I could see an agreed upon foot or head spot placement of the 8 even though the opponent isn't going to like seeing their one sided victory reset.

    I read the rules state if there's an argument the game starts over. We'll, there's my argument.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


8 Ball Hung in Opponent's Pocket in Last Pocket 8 Ball

  • Title: 8 Ball Hung in Opponent's Pocket in Last Pocket 8 Ball
  • Author: (Aaron Berg)
  • Published: 12/22/2020 6:20:15 PM
  • Last Updated: 12/23/2020 4:06:04 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)