log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is There any Form of Legal Jump Shot in Snooker?


Is There any Form of Legal Jump Shot in Snooker?

I would like to know if jumping the ball directly, as in scooping-up the ball with the cue tip, is legal in Snooker, or must it be done as in Pool, as off the table by punching down on the cue ball?

Why I ask this is because jumping the ball directly would cause the cue ball to perhaps be struck by the ferrule of the tip as well, thus making it a foul shot. Correct?

I did read the answers to the question Are jump shots allowed in snooker?, but want to know if there is any difference depending on the way the ball is jumped.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is There any Form of Legal Jump Shot in Snooker?

Replies & Comments

  1. guestdax00 on 8/14/2016 1:19:02 AM

    Scooping the ball is always a foul shot.

    In snooker, it is a foul to jump over any part of an obstructing ball, period. That is why you don't see jump shots, only kicks and swerves. You could hypothetically jump the white over nothing to pocket a ball on the other side of the table in order to maximize spin if you didn't trust your cue action, but that would be very difficult and unnecessarily risky. You would have to strike down onto the cue ball, as in pool.

  2. guestuser1510947851 on 11/17/2017 2:44:14 PM

    I am watching Ronnie O'Sullivan vs Joe Perry Shanghai Masters match from 2017-11-15, frame 4, and the score is 64.

    O'Sullivan hits the top of the Pink ball with the cue ball and goes straight over it. The referee calls a miscue.

    Was that the correct decision?

  3. guestbilliardsforum on 4/9/2019 4:34:52 PM

    I just watched that match you mentioned. you can actually hear the miscue. That sound sticks out. He was probably trying to put some backspin on the cue ball and didn't quite execute it correctly.

    Decision was correct (though I don't fully understand the bit about it hitting the front half of the pink ball not being a foul, vs if it had hit the back half of the pink ball, it would have been a foul). Can anyone explain that part to me? I think it means that if the cue ball hit the front half of the pink on it's way down, the cue ball would be considered to have jumped over the pink ball (which would have been a foul).

    It's clear (at least to me) what his shot was going to be. It was obvious he wasn't trying to actually jump the pink with the cue ball. He was shooting the cue ball at the pink. There was nothing past the pink ball anyway which he could have played, thus, zero reason to jump the pink.

    For anyone who hasn't seen it, it's here:

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is There any Form of Legal Jump Shot in Snooker?

  • Title: Is There any Form of Legal Jump Shot in Snooker?
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/20/2015 2:01:00 PM
  • Last Updated: 4/9/2019 3:07:15 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)