log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is Jumping in Snooker Legal?


Is Jumping in Snooker Legal?

Is "jumping" the white ball over other balls legal in snooker?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is Jumping in Snooker Legal?

Replies & Comments

  1. unitedunited on 1/6/2007 3:05:36 AM

    Unlike in pool, the cue ball may not jump over a ball in snooker.

    It may jump, however, before striking the object ball provided it does not land on the far side of the ball. Also, even if it strikes the top of the ball, if it lands on the other side, it would still be considered a foul - and the player would receive the penalty value of the "ball on" (which would be a minimum of four points), or the penalty value of the ball struck; whichever is greater.

    To clarify further, supposing the yellow were snookered by the black. If the player jumped over the black without touching it, that would be four away. If however the black were struck as the white jumped over it, that would be seven away as in a normal foul. If the white strikes a ball "on" fairly, then jumps over another ball, this is not a foul.

    It is also possible for the white to jump onto a cushion and drop back onto the table. This is not a foul, and, if the "ball on" jumps onto a cushion, runs along it and drops into a pocket, the "ball on" is scored as normal. If, of course, a ball had been jumped over before this, it would be a foul.

    If the cue ball jumps onto a cushion and comes back on the table, this is not a foul, but if it stays on the cushion, a foul is called and the white is played from hand. Hope this helps

  2. unitedinsight07 on 2/13/2008 2:03:02 PM

    Thanks for that post. Sometimes when playing the "ball on" while the cue was elevated over another ball, I would jump the white, but only after the white had hit the "ball on". It's nice to know that I wasn't fouling the whole time.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is Jumping in Snooker Legal?

  • Title: Is Jumping in Snooker Legal?
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/6/2007 3:02:25 AM