log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Hitting a Wrong Colour Ball After Potting the Red


Hitting a Wrong Colour Ball After Potting the Red

Hi. My name is Charles from Malaysia.

A player, after potting the red nominated to pot the green (player had clear shot at green). However the player missed the green and hit a red instead. The marker called "foul 7".

Is this correct since we are social players in a private club and we do not subscribed to the foul and miss rule. Rule 10 of the official rules are not clear on this issue.

Thank You.

Charles

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Hitting a Wrong Colour Ball After Potting the Red

Replies & Comments

  1. user1560831824billiardsforum on 6/19/2019 3:10:56 PM

    The foul would only be 7 points if one of the following occurred:

    • Touching an object ball with anything other than the cue ball,
    • Playing at reds, or a free ball followed by a red, in successive strokes,
    • Failing to declare which ball is "on" when requested to do so by the referee,
    • After potting a red or free ball nominated as a red, committing a foul before nominating a colour,
    • Using a ball off the table for any purpose, or
    • Using any object to measure gaps or distance

    If one of these has not been committed, the number of points awarded are either:

    1. equal to the value of the ball "on,"
    2. the highest value of all balls involved in the foul, or
    3. four points, whichever is highest

    If multiple fouls are committed in one shot, only the penalty for the highest-valued foul is scored.

    Also see this previous similar question:

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Hitting a Wrong Colour Ball After Potting the Red

  • Title: Hitting a Wrong Colour Ball After Potting the Red
  • Author: (Charles Nagalingam)
  • Published: 6/17/2019 9:23:45 PM