log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Snooker Foul When Missed Hitting the Red Ball


Snooker Foul When Missed Hitting the Red Ball

Last night I had a debate with a player I was playing against. The situation was as follows.

The player was on a red ball. The player missed the red ball and hit the yellow ball, thus giving away a 4 point foul. However, the yellow ball he had hit continued on, struck the blue ball, and potted it.

Is this just a 4 point foul for hitting the yellow first, or is this a 5 point foul for also potting the blue and causing it to have to be re-spotted?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Snooker Foul When Missed Hitting the Red Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Azzaahhuser1292936757 on 12/21/2010 1:05:57 PM

    In snooker, you take the highest point value of multiple fouls. In your scenario, two fouls come into play.

    1. Cue ball first hit a ball not on (since the red ball was on, and you first hit a yellow ball) - Minimum 4 point foul penalty
    2. Causing a ball not on to enter a pocket - 5 points since it was the blue ball that fell.

    So, it would be a 5-point foul because the blue ball fell into a pocket, and it is worth 5 points. Generally, in situations like this, the player committing the foul must take the greater point value if multiple balls are concerned.

    From the latest WPBSA snooker rules (emphasis mine):

    10. Penalties.

    The following acts are fouls and incur a penalty of four points unless a higher one is indicated in paragraphs (a) to (d) below. Penalties are:

    • (a) value of the ball on by:
      • [...]
    • (b) value of the ball on or ball concerned, whichever is higher, by:
      • (i) striking when any ball is not at rest;
      • (ii) striking before the referee has completed the spotting of a colour that is not a free ball;
      • (iii) causing a ball not on to enter a pocket;
      • (iv) causing the cue-ball to first hit a ball not on;
      • (v) making a push stroke;
      • (vi) touching a ball or ball marker in play; or
      • (vii) causing a ball to be forced off the table;
    • (c) value of [...]

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Snooker Foul When Missed Hitting the Red Ball

  • Title: Snooker Foul When Missed Hitting the Red Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/23/2010 7:21:50 AM