log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Object Ball - Billiard Term Definition

Welcome to the billiard, pool, and snooker glossary of terms. This is the definition of Object Ball as it relates to cue sports. You can also view the entire billiard dictionary

Definition of Object Ball

Object Ball is a billiards term that is a part of Billiard Accessory Terminology.

An object ball is any numbered ball at which you are shooting or is the next ball to be pocketed. The term object ball has a few different uses depending on the context. On one hand,object ball refers to any ball that may be legally struck by the cue ball. In this context, it may also be referred to as the ball on. In another context, object ball refers to any ball other than the cue ball such as the solids suit or the stripes suit.

See: ball on, balls on for more on the meaning of "Object Ball".

Object Ball - Usage

Can someone clean the cue ball? It is full of chalk and is not properly transferring spin or english to the object ball properly. Your set of pool balls is missing 4 of the object balls.

Billiards - Object Ball

  • Title: Object Ball
  • Author: (Billiards Forum)
  • Published: 3/13/2006
  • Last Updated: 10/25/2007 9:49:41 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum

Object Ball Comments

  1. George L. SigalosGeorge L. Sigalos from Exeter, NH on 4/24/2008 10:38:12 AM

    How do you define "object ball" as it applies to 8-Ball? Is it:

    • One SPECIFIC ball of your group, either stripes or solids
    • ANY ball of your group, either stripes or solids

    For example, if you are shooting solids and playing "call shot" 8-Ball, and you call the 2 ball in a pocket but hit the three ball first, is it a foul?

  2. billiardsforumbilliardsforum from Halifax, NS on 8/23/2016 1:40:15 PM

    The definition of "Object Ball" doesn't really have anything to do with the rules of "call shot 8 ball" so don't get hung up on that.

    In general you can think of the object ball(s) as the numbered balls in your set that are still in play. If you are doing a combination shot as you described, the object balls are the 2 ball and the 3 ball for that shot.

    Generally the scenario you described is not a foul. If you called the 2 ball "in-off" of the 3 ball, then you are fine as long as you called that combination. If you didn't call the combination, then in some rules it would be a foul. You just need to figure out if you are playing strict call-shot, or a more loose version where you don't need to call obvious combinations, etc. Most 8 ball tournaments only require that you call the ball and the pocket:

    See this thread on calling shots in 8 ball (first reply):

    No-Slop rules: you have to call all the nuances of the shot. Banks, Kicks, Caroms, Jumps, Mass├ęs... but not the trifflings such as which (or how many) interrior corner(s) of the pocket {Rattles} or grazing incident rail contacts.

    Tournament play: the only required information is which ball and which pocket.

    Also see this post about calling the order of balls pocketed in 8 ball rules. It confirms the above.

Submit New Billiard Term or Suggest a Correction

You can suggest a new billiard term and it's definition here. If you are suggesting a correction for an existing term, enter the entire definition as with your corrections incorporated.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only