log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Calling the Order of Balls Pocketed in 8 Ball Rules


Calling the Order of Balls Pocketed in 8 Ball Rules

I am writing to specify how to treat a situation I had with a friend of mine when playing 8-ball today regarding whether you have to call, in order, the balls to be pocketed if you are trying to pocket two balls e.g. on a combination shot.

It was right after break with the table still open. He was calling for a combination shot as follows: "Cue ball to Solid Ball A, to Solid Ball B, to Pocket X".

When that shot was taken, the result was that both balls were pocketed to "Pocket X" but "Solid Ball A" was pocketed first, before "Solid Ball B".

Question: Is "Solid Ball B" legally pocketed is such situation?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Calling the Order of Balls Pocketed in 8 Ball Rules

Replies & Comments

  1. rsdmanguest on 3/23/2015 3:36:52 PM

    According to BCA/WPA and every other league I am aware of, the order in which balls are pocketed during a shot is irrelevant. As long as the ball you call goes into the pocket you call and the shot is legal, it counts and the player's turn continues.

    Also, just to clarify, you never have to call more than one ball or what balls will be involved in a combination shot. All you ever have to call is the ball you are intending to pocket and the pocket you intend to put it in. So all the player in your example had to say was, "Solid ball B into pocket X." As long as the shot was legal and ball B goes in pocket X, his turn continues.

  2. rsdmanrsdman on 3/23/2015 3:45:10 PM

    Is this relevant to calling balls from the same group only?

    For example, with a called shot like "Solid ball B into pocket X", even if ball(s) from another group are pocketed before "Solid ball B", is it still legal?

  3. rsdmanguest on 3/23/2015 3:57:01 PM

    Correct.

    To make a legal shot, you must hit a ball of your group first. If the table is still open (as it always is on the first shot after the break), you may use any ball on the table, except the 8 ball, as the first ball in a combination. So, for example, you can call "4 ball into the side pocket" and hit the 10 ball into the 4 ball and into the pocket, and that's a legal shot.

    Does that answer your question?

  4. rsdmanrsdman on 3/23/2015 4:05:28 PM

    Interesting...

    So, when I am playing 8 ball in a pocket that is closed by foreign ball and both balls are pocketed - it's win game?

  5. rsdmanguest on 3/23/2015 4:17:05 PM

    Yes, if you're shooting for the win, hit the 8 ball first, and it drops into the pocket you call, it's a win regardless of any other balls going into any pocket at any time during the shot (except the cue ball, of course).

  6. rsdmanrsdman on 3/23/2015 4:25:46 PM

    That completely changes the way we play 8 ball. Thank you so much for your time and replies.

  7. rsdmanguest on 3/23/2015 4:44:40 PM

    You're very much welcome. I don't know the etiquette of this forum regarding posting links, but I would suggest that you google WPA Pool and read the rules of their website if you have not already. I like to use those rules when playing with friends or with people I don't know well that aren't in a specific league or anything. League and tournament rules can vary slightly, so always check what set of rules are being used before playing.

  8. rsdmanZeke on 3/24/2015 6:33:19 AM

    At the top of this webpage, you'll see a pale green caption "Billiard Rules" If you look at the variations you'll see this: 8 Ball Rules

    That should explain it all.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Calling the Order of Balls Pocketed in 8 Ball Rules

  • Title: Calling the Order of Balls Pocketed in 8 Ball Rules
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/23/2015 3:29:07 PM