log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Snooker Foul on the Last Black Ball


Snooker Foul on the Last Black Ball

I have a snooker question about a foul on the black ball.

  • Only the black ball remains on the table.
  • I had to pot the black ball to gain a draw.
  • My opponent wins if he pots the black ball.

At this point in time my opponent commits a foul by not touching the black ball on his shot.

So do I win even though I had a draw? If not, what should we do?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Snooker Foul on the Last Black Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. dhilzzGrampy Finch on 3/16/2009 3:06:42 PM

    And what about when the white ball is potted in off the black ball, giving the opponent a 1 point lead in the game?

    Does this automatically give him the game (due to you committing a foul on the black ball) or should you carry on until the black is potted?

  2. dhilzznitehawkz on 4/29/2012 9:07:36 AM

    I have the same question.

    What happens in snooker when you scratch foul on the black and you only lead by 7 points?

    For example:

    • Player A leads by 7 points with only black ball left.
    • Player A hits the black ball but pockets the white ball (in-off)

    Does the frame ends in favor of Player B or does play continue? If play continues, how should the balls be placed?

  3. dhilzzbilliardsforum on 4/11/2019 3:20:46 AM

    Remember, in snooker, the black ball has no special connotation other than it being worth 7 points.

    You have all basically presented the same scenario - that is, the frame ending in a draw.

    • Black ball is the only ball remaining in play
    • There is a difference of 7 points between players
    • The player ahead by 7 commits a foul by pocketing the white ball in-off
    • Black ball remains on the table

    Assuming you aren't playing an "aggregate match", it's pretty straight forward...

    The black ball is spotted, players draw lots for choice of playing next, first player starts with white ball in-hand, and the next score or foul ends the frame.

    This is outlined in section 4 of the WPBSA official snooker rules:

    4. End of Frame, Game, or Match

    (a) When Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, the first score or foul ends the frame excepting only if the following conditions both apply:

    • (i) the scores are then equal; and
    • (ii) aggregate scores are not relevant.

    (b) When both conditions in (a) above apply:

    • (i) the Black is spotted;
    • (ii) the players draw lots for choice of playing next;
    • (iii) the next player plays from in-hand; and
    • (iv) the next score or foul ends the frame

    However, if the players had the same scores (tied) with only the black ball remaining, and player A scratched, it would be a loss of frame for that player.

    Here is Ronnie O'Sullivan scratching on the black while tied with Xiao Guodong during the International Championship 2016. He scratches on the black ball resulting in loss of the frame.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Snooker Foul on the Last Black Ball

  • Title: Snooker Foul on the Last Black Ball
  • Author: (D. Hilip)
  • Published: 1/17/2009 12:33:30 AM
  • Last Updated: 4/11/2019 2:08:49 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)