log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Questions About Free Ball Situations


Questions About Free Ball Situations

Hi Eddie from Derby

I have a couple of questions that I have puzzled over for years. Asking other players, team mates etc, has only led to further confusion. Could you please enlighten me on the following.

  1. Player A has potted white. Player B places cue ball in D but: can only see one side of ball on from yellow spot and the other side of ball on from green spot. However, he cannot see both sides of the ball on, at the same time, from any location within the D. is this, or is it not, a free ball situation?

  2. Frame is down to the colours; Brown, Blue and Pink are on their own spots. Yellow, the ball on, is on the Black spot. (Green is knocking about somewhere). Player A has just made a foul shot and snookered player B behind the Green. Player B is awarded a free ball, he nominates Brown. He stuns white onto Brown spot, effectively snookering player A. I understand that if the Brown were to stop between the cue ball and the Blue it would be deemed a foul shot, can't snooker behind nominated ball and all that. However, what if the white were to stop between the Blue and the Pink, or between the Pink and the Yellow, would that still be deemed a foul shot as it is in a direct line between the cue ball and the ball on?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Questions About Free Ball Situations

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Questions About Free Ball Situations

  • Title: Questions About Free Ball Situations
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/17/2010 8:29:08 AM
  • Last Updated: 4/12/2019 3:23:59 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)