log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Using Potted Balls as a Measuring Device


Penalty for Using Potted Balls as a Measuring Device

What happens if a snooker player uses a potted ball in order to judge whether he can fit through a gap in order to play a shot? What is the penalty?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Using Potted Balls as a Measuring Device

Replies & Comments

  1. hookMitch Alsup on 2/26/2010 9:55:25 AM

    I don't know what the rule is in snooker, but using anything as a measureing device is a foul in pool. There is a fine line, here. Using you cue stick as a pointing device is perfectly find, however, if you let go of the cue stick at any point, it becomes a measuring device and a foul has been comitted.

    At home, to develop your eye for seeing if a ball can pass or not--go ahead, just don't do this in public.

  2. hookterry bare on 2/26/2010 9:59:35 AM

    @hook - No you can not use any measuring device in snooker. It's totally illegal to use any measuring devices.

  3. hookhook on 2/26/2010 10:02:03 AM

    Cheers, but what is the punishment? 4 points for doing so to opponent? And decision of whether he plays shot, forces continue or has a free ball?

  4. hookterry bare on 2/26/2010 10:22:34 AM

    I am not 100% sure of the penalty, but I would assume it would the value of the ball you are on.

    For example, if you are measuring to get through to a color, it would be the value of that color:

    • black ball = 7 points
    • pink ball = 6 points
    • blue ball = 5 points
    • brown ball = 4 points

    The minimum penalty is 4 points for any foul.

    Yellow and green are worth 2 points and 3 points respectively, but a foul on either is worth 4 points. If you committed the measuring foul in a tournament, it could result in the loss of frame, but you probably would never see any player commit it.

  5. hookFox523 on 3/17/2010 10:56:00 PM

    It is a 7 point penalty in both WPBSA and IBSF rules.

    They are written exactly the same but the section reads:

    (d) A penalty of seven points is incurred if the striker (i) uses a ball off the table for any purpose, (ii) uses any object to measure gaps or distance, (iii) plays at Reds, or a free ball followed by a Red, in successive strokes, (iv) uses any ball other than White as the cue-ball for any stroke once the frame has started, (v) fails to declare which ball he is on when requested to do so by the referee, or (vi) after potting a Red or free ball nominated as a Red, commits a foul before nominating a colour.

  6. hookLegacy Billiards on 9/20/2011 12:40:56 AM

    No you can not use any measuring device in the game. Each legally potted color ball has a point value as indicated.

  7. hookdax00 on 8/14/2016 1:32:39 AM

    Fox523 is right. That would be a 7-point foul regardless of the ball used. That could also be cause for a warning from the referee.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Using Potted Balls as a Measuring Device

  • Title: Penalty for Using Potted Balls as a Measuring Device
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/26/2010 8:24:31 AM