log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Using a Measuring Device in Snooker


Penalty for Using a Measuring Device in Snooker

What happens if a snooker player uses a potted ball in order to judge whether he can fit through a gap in order to play a shot?

What is the penalty for using a measuring device in snooker?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Using a Measuring Device in Snooker

Replies & Comments

  1. hookMitch Alsup on 2/26/2010 9:55:25 AM

    I don't know what the rule is in snooker, but using anything as a measuring device is a foul in pool.

    There is a fine line here, though. Using you cue stick as a pointing device is perfectly fine, however, if you let go of the cue stick at any point, it becomes a measuring device and a foul has been committed.

    Of course, if you are practicing at home, go ahead. Use the ball as a measuring device in order to develop your eye and your feel for whether or not a ball can pass. Just don't do it in public.

  2. hookterry bare on 2/26/2010 9:59:35 AM

    The answer is NO. Period.

    You can not use any measuring device in snooker.

    It's totally illegal to use any measuring devices.

  3. hookhook on 2/26/2010 10:02:03 AM

    Cheers!

    But what is the penalty for using a measuring device in snooker? Is it four points awarded to the opponent?

    Also, what about the decision of whether he plays the shot, forces continue, or has a free ball?

  4. hookterry bare on 2/26/2010 10:22:34 AM

    I am not 100% sure of the penalty, but I would assume it would be the value of the ball you are on.

    For example, if you are measuring to get through to a color, it would be the value of that color:

    • black ball = 7 points
    • pink ball = 6 points
    • blue ball = 5 points
    • brown ball = 4 points

    The minimum penalty is 4 points for any foul.

    Yellow and green are worth 2 points and 3 points respectively, but a foul on either is worth 4 points. If you committed the measuring foul in a tournament, it could result in the loss of frame, but you probably would never see any player commit it.

  5. hookFox523 on 3/17/2010 10:56:00 PM

    It is a 7 point penalty in both WPBSA and IBSF rules.

    They are written exactly the same but the section reads:

    10. Penalties.

    (d) [A penalty of] seven points if the striker

    • (i) uses a ball off the table for any purpose,
    • (ii) uses any object to measure gaps or distance,
    • (iii) plays at Reds, or a free ball followed by a Red, in successive strokes,
    • (iv) uses any ball other than White as the cue-ball for any stroke once the frame has started,
    • (v) fails to declare which ball he is on when requested to do so by the referee, or
    • (vi) after potting a Red or free ball nominated as a Red, commits a foul before nominating a colour.
  6. hookLegacy Billiards on 9/20/2011 12:40:56 AM

    No you can not use any measuring device in snooker. Each legally potted color ball has a point value as indicated.

  7. hookdax00 on 8/14/2016 1:32:39 AM

    @Fox523 has the right answer. It would be a 7-point foul for using a measuring device regardless of the ball used or the ball the player is shooting for.

    That could also be cause for a warning from the referee.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Using a Measuring Device in Snooker

  • Title: Penalty for Using a Measuring Device in Snooker
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/26/2010 8:24:31 AM
  • Last Updated: 4/9/2019 2:33:37 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)