log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for a Foul by Potting the Cue Ball


Penalty for a Foul by Potting the Cue Ball

I am hoping someone can help end a debate. What is the penalty for potting the cue ball in-off another ball?

Simple scenario.

Player A pots a red, and nominates green. He pots the green, and the white ball crosses the table, strikes pink then goes in-off.

What is the penalty?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for a Foul by Potting the Cue Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1576562851billiardsforum on 1/9/2020 1:38:32 AM

    It is a foul to pot the cue ball (in-off).

    When a foul shot occurs, the player's turn ends and no points are awarded for any balls potted on that shot (the green ball in your scenario).

    The incoming player receives the cue ball "in-hand" and may play from anywhere within the "D" for the next shot.

  2. user1576562851user1576562851 on 1/9/2020 2:16:45 AM

    Yes, yes, yes, I get that, ball in hand. However, the white ball canoned off the pink before it went in off. The question is: What is the penalty. Is it 4 or is it 6...?

  3. user1576562851billiardsforum on 1/9/2020 2:29:05 AM

    I am 99% sure that for this particular foul (cue ball in-off), the penalty is just the value of the ball-on (the green in this case), so, 4 points.

    Section 10 (a) (vii) of the WPBSA snooker rules discusses penalties:

    10. Penalties.

    The following acts are fouls and incur a penalty of four points unless a higher one is indicated in paragraphs (a) to (d) below. Penalties are:

    (a) The value of the ball-on:

    • [...]
    • (vii) causing the cue-ball to enter a pocket;

    There is a separate list for fouls with a penalty that includes the "ball-on" and the "ball concerned" but potting the cue ball (in-off) isn't listed under that heading.

    The pink isn't the "ball-on" in this scenario, it is a "ball concerned", so it's not relevant to this foul.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for a Foul by Potting the Cue Ball

  • Title: Penalty for a Foul by Potting the Cue Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/16/2019 10:07:33 PM
  • Last Updated: 1/9/2020 1:32:28 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)