log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Use of Opponents Object Ball to Pocket Your Own Ball


Use of Opponents Object Ball to Pocket Your Own Ball

Is it legal to use your opponents ball to pocket one of your own balls?

P.S. The Billiards Forum is a really great forum. I like it because there is no nonsense poking fun like on other forums.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Use of Opponents Object Ball to Pocket Your Own Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. guestquickshot on 10/25/2008 2:27:48 PM

    No. You can hit your ball and it may hit an opponent's ball and the opponents ball may hit yours. But you cannot use an opponents ball to sink one of yours.

  2. guestbilliardsforum on 10/25/2008 3:14:26 PM

    Don't have have to make sure you hit one of your own set of balls first before hitting one of your opponent's balls?

  3. guestMitch Alsup on 10/29/2008 8:37:35 AM

    BCA (2007-2008) rule 1.19

    1. If you use a legal stroke
    2. Hit a legal ball first
    3. Make the called ball in the called pocket

    You can use other balls including the 8-ball to cause these three things to be manifest.

    • Some rule-sets don't allow using the 8-ball in combinations.
    • Some rule-sets don't allow using the opponent's balls but you can use the 8-ball
    • Some rule-sets don't allow using the opponents balls or the 8-ball.
  4. guestsmichael on 11/8/2008 9:36:01 AM

    See, I always thought this was cut and dry. When you hit your opponent's object ball first, you forfeit your shot. Your pocketed ball stays in. I always thought that you must hit your own ball first no matter what. However, if you hit your ball, then it hits the opponents which then hits your ball, it's a legal shot.

  5. guestguest on 11/8/2008 9:38:14 AM

    Thanks everyone, I guess I'm still confused because some of the replies are contradictory.

  6. guestbilliardsforum on 11/8/2008 9:49:48 AM

    Fun question, this thread could probably go back and forth for ever. Al thought the question is vague because you don't specify which game you are playing, and by which rule set you typically play. However, take a stab at this assuming you are talking about playing 8-ball.

    Here are several scenarios that will come up that match the situation in your post:

    • In 8-ball, you have to contact your own ball first. This is fairly well known. Failing to do so results in a foul and your opponent takes ball in hand, whereby he or she may place the cue ball anywhere on the table. To recap, if you hit the cue ball into one of your opponents balls and that ball hits and pockets one of your own, your ball stays pocketed, and your opponent now gets to place the que ball anywhere on the table. That is basically the result of any foul in 8-ball.
    • On the other hand, if you contact your own ball first, then one of your opponents balls hits and pockets your ball, then you have made a legal pocket. You only need to call a ball and a pocket for that ball to be pocketed. If you do this, and that ball is pocketed in that pocket, and no other foul is commited, you are safe regardless of how that ball got there.

    We must note, however, that while these are the official rules according to most billiard associations throughout the world, many people play by different rules in different places and the set of rules you are using should be specified before any game starts.

    Wow, sorry for the long winded answer.

  7. guestquickshot on 11/8/2008 3:54:21 PM

    The answer from @billiardsforum is pretty clear. We are assuming you are talking 8 ball so I'll make it simpler.

    • You have the solids and I have the stripes.
    • You hit your, lets say, five ball. It in turn hits my nine ball.
    • My 9 ball hits your one ball and puts it in the pocket.
    • It is a legal shot and you still have the table.

    On the other hand, if you accidentally hit my 9 ball first it is a foul and you give up the table to your opponent. We are talking 8 ball here.

    Now if you are playing 9 ball you have to sink all the balls in numerical order. BUT, lets say you are on the table after the break. You have to play the lowest ball on the table i.e. 1,2,3,4,5 up to the 8. If you are playing the 1 ball and it hits the 4 ball and puts it in the pocket that is a legal shot and you keep the table until you miss a shot or scratch.

    I can't make it any more simple than this.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Use of Opponents Object Ball to Pocket Your Own Ball

  • Title: Use of Opponents Object Ball to Pocket Your Own Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/25/2008 1:51:32 PM