log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Hit Your Ball First but Pocket Opponents Ball First


Hit Your Ball First but Pocket Opponents Ball First

If a player has his object ball blocked by an opponents ball, is it a legal shot if he hits his object ball first, but knocks in his opponents ball first then his own object ball?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Hit Your Ball First but Pocket Opponents Ball First

Replies & Comments

  1. Don goblerustyauxier on 1/3/2011 5:51:25 AM

    it is a legal shot. As long as the object ball was hit first, it is, in no way a foul ( as long as a ball was pocketed or a ball hits a rail after contact with the object ball) Opinions vary a bit in regards to a ball hitting a rail after contact. I have read numerous places 'a numbered ball' has to hit a rail, but where we play, any ball, including the cue ball, contacting a rail constitutes a legal shot.

    Have fun!

  2. Don gobleMitch Alsup on 1/3/2011 9:34:33 AM

    As long as you make contact with a legal ball first and pot the called ball in the called pocket, the order of events and extraneus events are irrelevent.

    Potting of an opponents ball is an extraneous event. Potting it before potting the called ball is an ordering of events Neither mater if the called ball goes in the called pocket. Even if the called ball does not go in the called pocket, there is no foul if the CB make contact with a legal ball first, and at least one ball drops or makes contact with a rail.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Hit Your Ball First but Pocket Opponents Ball First

  • Title: Hit Your Ball First but Pocket Opponents Ball First
  • Author: (Don Goble)
  • Published: 1/2/2011 4:05:24 PM