log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can You Use a Mechanical Bridge With No Stick?


Can You Use a Mechanical Bridge With No Stick?

Can a mechanical bridge be used without a cue stick by just holding it in one hand and making the shot one-handed?

I am thinking of the same thing as a mechanical bridge without the cue for extension. You can buy a bridge head by itself that can be installed on a cue.

So, if you want to use it without the cue installed and hold it in your hand and still rest your cue on the bridge head for your shot, would that be a legal shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Can You Use a Mechanical Bridge With No Stick?

Replies & Comments

  1. chalkboxbilliardsforum on 8/29/2016 2:59:13 PM

    No that would not be legal because you would not be using that piece of equipment in the way in which it was intended.

    From the World Pool-Billiards Association general rules:

    1.3 (c) Mechanical Bridges – The player may use up to two mechanical bridges to support the cue stick during the shot. The configuration of the bridges is up to the player. He may use his own bridge if it is similar to standard bridges.

    From BCA general rules of pocket billiards:

    Players may not use equipment or accessory items for purposes or in a manner other than those for which the items were intended.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can You Use a Mechanical Bridge With No Stick?

  • Title: Can You Use a Mechanical Bridge With No Stick?
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/2/2009 7:56:30 PM
  • Last Updated: 8/29/2016 2:54:46 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)