log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Billiard Combination Shot with Opponent's Ball


Billiard Combination Shot with Opponent's Ball

I have a question about billiard combination shot rules. The scenario is this:

I hit my object ball first then it hits my opponent's ball, which then hits another of my balls and drives it into the pocket.

Is that a legal combination shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Billiard Combination Shot with Opponent's Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Redman 222293Scratcher gns98 on 9/18/2010 11:20:06 AM

    In a combination shot, you have to hit your own ball first with the cue ball I believe. That object ball can then strike another players ball or another one of your own, it doesn't matter, as long as long as your called ball ends up going into the called pocket.

  2. Redman 222293James in Cali on 9/26/2010 12:00:46 PM

    So then you can use your opponent's ball to make a combination shot, it just can't be the first one you hit with the cue ball.

    For example, you can't shoot the cue ball at your opponent's ball, to then hit your ball into the pocket, correct?

  3. Redman 222293Frank Segoviano on 1/19/2012 10:17:26 PM

    I have a similar or the same combination shot off opponent's ball in the middle. In my combination shot, this was the scenario:

    I called the combination, I hit my ball first, then his, then mine, and my ball goes in the pocket. This is a triple combination shot with the opponent's ball, correct?

    Is this legal, and would it still be my turn to shoot again?

  4. Redman 222293Phil Matthews on 4/1/2012 6:33:09 PM

    What about this scenario?

    Using a combination shot, when one ball is driven into a second ball to pocket the second ball, do both balls have to belong to the same player or can the driven ball (first ball) and/or the object ball (second ball) be from either player?

    E.g. when you are shooting, and you make:

    • A combination shot with cue ball to opponent's ball, opponent's ball to your ball, then your ball into the pocket.
    • A combination shot with cue ball to your ball, your ball hits an opponent's ball, then opponent's ball into the pocket.

    What is the ruling and penalty (if any) for each scenario?

  5. Redman 222293Wayne K Jennings on 10/29/2014 8:25:53 PM

    In a combination shot, I was told that there is a rule that you cannot use your opponent's ball as the second contact.

    I guess this is incorrect based on what everyone is saying.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Billiard Combination Shot with Opponent's Ball

  • Title: Billiard Combination Shot with Opponent's Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/18/2010 12:54:58 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/12/2017 2:10:12 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)