log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Acknowledging Your Own Fouls

Acknowledging Your Own Fouls

I have an opinion question on acknowledging your own billiards fouls.

I've started playing in a few billiard league tournaments. Nothing special, just local pool tournaments, not too formal. 90% of the time, players acknowledge, up front, when they commit a billiards foul, but sometimes, they'll foul and then just walk back to the pit area and sit down without saying anything, making their opponent call out the foul.

Are their any rules about acknowledge your own foul in some fashion, for example, by picking up the cue ball?

When the foul is very obvious this does not come up, but when the foul is ambiguous and and player does not say anything to acknowledge it and tries to get away with it, that seems like poor sportsmanship.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Acknowledging Your Own Fouls

Replies & Comments

  1. jaybilliardsforum on 6/29/2007 10:29:04 AM

    Unfortunately, this is an inherent part of play in the majority of billiard and pool leagues. Because of the mainstream nature of billiards and its affordability, you will meet all different kinds of players with different morals and principles. In fact, you may encounter a failure to acknowledge a billiard foul for reasons and intent that are not malicious. For example, some players just don't have the experience or rules knowledge necessary to recognize and acknowledge the foul, whether it be their own, or an opponent's. Don't expect everyone to play at the same level or have the same level of familiarity with the rules.

    Remember that most all billiard rules state that it is the opponent's responsibility to observe while you shoot, and to question when you foul. Also consider that some players will be angry when committing a foul, and just can't wait to get away from the table. (Although, this is no excuse.)

    Also, consider this scenario: Your opponent calls a foul on your shot where you were focusing on whether your object ball hit a rail. Your object ball didn't hit a rail, but since you were watching that, you may not have noticed whether your cue ball hit a rail. You probably wouldn't concede to the foul so easily since you didn't see it one way or the other. Regardless of this, it did happen in your opponent's eyes. What would you do?

  2. jayjay on 6/29/2007 10:35:13 AM

    Good points, thanks for the reply.

    In cases where the foul is totally obvious, I will still ask my opponenet. Yes, sometimes committing a foul causes them to be really upset and my calling or questioning their fouling play could upset them more, but you can't reason that way. An opponent's anger is their own problem.

    Also, don't you get frustrated when team members or the other team isn't paying attention to the game? As a result, every time they come to the table they have to ask if it was a foul. I don't have patience for that. Do they even want to be there? Another thing is that some opponents also get upset when you ask them to wait and have someone watch for a good hit.

    Sportsmanship goes well beyond just letting your opponent know if you foul. It is sad that some people have to do this to win matches.

  3. jayGinger on 6/29/2007 10:36:39 AM

    Jay, I agree with you, but I think you are being naive. Part of one's skill is their strategy. There are no distinct rules governing a player and their responsibility to call fouls. They are being smart and using it to their advantage.

  4. jayFenwick on 11/26/2007 5:11:28 PM

    Old topic new reply. After just getting back into the game I have been playing many new to me players. No tournaments so far. I in the past thought Pool as is Golf is a game of honor. I see no advantage to not calling a foul on ones self. Cheating is cheating and I was raised to believe cheaters never win. After all it's not love or war. I have done it, called a foul on myself, many times as right now I'm not very good or as steady as I should or will be again I hope. Someone should have caught it if eyes were on the game. I did play someone who fouled and continued to shoot and I think less of them sense. Just my 2 cents worth.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Acknowledging Your Own Fouls

  • Title: Acknowledging Your Own Fouls
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/29/2007 9:35:35 AM
  • Last Updated: 6/29/2007 9:36:01 AM
  • Last Updated By: jay