log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Spotting Object Balls in 6 Ball Pool

Spotting Object Balls in 6 Ball Pool

I have a question about spotting object balls in 6-ball pool rules.

In our game, I "give" the opponent the 5-ball.

If the opponent scratches on the 4-ball (his last ball), does he spot the 4-ball or does it remain pocketed?

I think his pocketed 4-ball comes up and is spotted, but I shoot the 5-ball because he scratched on the 4 ball. That's his bad luck right?

So I can go ahead and play the 5-ball and 6-ball for the win, right?

If I'm wrong, I need to know.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Spotting Object Balls in 6 Ball Pool

Replies & Comments

  1. qstickbilliardsforum on 1/19/2018 5:52:06 AM

    I don't think you can "spot" or "give" your opponent the 6 ball. That is where your problem lies. Pocketing the 6-ball is how you win the game.

    In six-ball pool, any balls pocketed on a foul remain down in the normal course of play, but it is a weird case as you are giving him the 5-ball and 6-ball. I don't think you can just skip shooting the 4 ball. If he didn't scratch, you would still have to shoot the 4-ball.

    I suggest giving him the 4-ball and the 5-ball instead. That way you are both shooting at a common final ball, the game-winning 6-ball, and you wouldn't need any special exceptions to the rules anymore. You would both have the same penalty if either of you scratched on your last ball.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Spotting Object Balls in 6 Ball Pool

  • Title: Spotting Object Balls in 6 Ball Pool
  • Author: (Mike Bell)
  • Published: 1/18/2018 10:01:46 AM
  • Last Updated: 1/19/2018 6:03:47 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)