log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Kelly Pool and Scratching on the 8-Ball

Kelly Pool and Scratching on the 8-Ball

What happens when you scratch on the 8-ball in Kelly pool rules?

I was recently in a 2-man Kelly Pool contest where my opponent had pocketed all the small numbered balls and I had two large numbered balls remaining on the table.

My opponent was then trying to pot the black 8-ball to win the game, but the cue ball went in off the 8-ball.

My question is; Do I then win the game or do I only get two shots?

My understanding is that you automatically lose if you make a mistake on the black 8-ball.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Kelly Pool and Scratching on the 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Charles Nichollsbilliardsforum on 9/26/2018 2:55:44 PM

    Not sure if I am understanding your question, but according to the rules of 8-ball (which, in general, apply to Kelly Pool Rules for any aspects not clearly outlined in those Kelly pool rules):

    When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

    If the 8 ball was pocketed by your opponent at the same time, it would come back out. According to Kelly Pool Rules:

    Should the player pocket the cue ball as well as their own object ball or any other object ball in the same shot, it is considered a foul shot and does not count for scoring purposes. Any balls pocketed via the above shots are re-spotted and the next player's inning begins. All other fouls included in the General Rules of Pocket Billiards apply to Kelly Pool.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Kelly Pool and Scratching on the 8-Ball

  • Title: Kelly Pool and Scratching on the 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/26/2018 12:58:37 AM
  • Last Updated: 9/26/2018 2:48:52 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)