log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Difference Between Illegal Shots and Fouls in One and Fifteen 8-Ball


Difference Between Illegal Shots and Fouls in One and Fifteen 8-Ball

I was reading the one and fifteen 8 ball rules, and have a question.

Could you please explain the difference between an illegal shot and a foul shot?

In the one-fifteen pool rules page, it seems from your paragraph on Illegally Pocketed Balls, that a shot might be illegal but not a foul, because if the shot is illegal and also a foul, then a second ball is spotted.

Thanks in advance if you are able to respond.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Difference Between Illegal Shots and Fouls in One and Fifteen 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Tom Breckonbilliardsforum on 1/14/2018 11:02:59 PM

    I did have another look at the rules, however, and agree that the "2nd ball spotted if it's also a foul" rules doesn't make a whole lot of since. In fact, the Kings Point Billiard Club, which holds regular one-fifteen tournaments, and publishes their own one-fifteen billiard rules has removed that sentence entirely.


    But, to clarify the verbiage around the finer points between a foul, illegal shot, and illegally pocketed balls, see below:

    I know this is a while on and you probably have it figured out, but this question on the difference between a foul shot vs. illegal shot in 8-ball gets a lot of views, so I wanted to put an answer here.

    The one-fifteen eight ball rules are an extension to the rules of 8 ball pool, and rules about legal shot making, and fouls found there also apply to one-fifteen billiards.

    A player's shot is considered illegal if it fails to meet ANY of the following criteria:

    • Hit one of their group of balls first and,
    • either (a) pocket a numbered ball, or (b) cause the cue ball, or any numbered ball to contact any rail.

    An illegal shot always results in a foul, BUT legal shots (shots which meet the above criteria) can also produce a foul. Examples of the latter would be a shot that meets the above criteria (as such it is classified as a legal shot), but, for example, the cue ball falls into a pocket (e.g. cue ball scratch foul) or, a player's hand hits another ball as he pulls his cue away.

    At first I thought I believe you might be thinking of the statements in the one fifteen billiard rules which talk about legally pocketed balls (vs. a legal shot, per sé).

    For example, in one-fifteen billiard rules, you can have pocketed a ball illegally e.g. you put one of the special balls in the wrong pocket, while also committing a foul for some other reason e.g. you scratched the cue ball as well.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Difference Between Illegal Shots and Fouls in One and Fifteen 8-Ball

  • Title: Difference Between Illegal Shots and Fouls in One and Fifteen 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/27/2015 2:10:58 PM
  • Last Updated: 1/14/2018 11:12:23 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)