log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Sink Your Own Last Ball in Cutthroat Pool


Sink Your Own Last Ball in Cutthroat Pool

In the cutthroat pool rules on this site, you mention you can even pocket your own ball to continue your turn.

  1. If I only have one ball left and I don't have a good shot on the last remaining opponents ball, can I legally can shoot my ball directly in and continue shooting pocketing his last ball and win the game?
  2. In the same example, assuming that the above is allowed, what if after making the last shot, I scratch?
    • Am I out with a tie, or
    • Am I out, and the other two guys each return a spotted ball and keep shooting without me (unless one scratches and I'm back)?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Sink Your Own Last Ball in Cutthroat Pool

Replies & Comments

  1. user1551121667billiardsforum on 2/26/2019 2:49:30 PM

    I am pretty sure you would be eliminated after pocketing your own last ball.

    The whole "pocketing your own ball" thing works when it isn't your last ball.

  2. user1551121667user1551121667 on 2/27/2019 9:48:45 AM

    Thanks for the reply. That makes sense.

    Now for clarification.

    Under the "Innings" paragraph:

    "A shooter can even pocket their own ball [...] for continuing their turn".

    Does that mean:

    • you can actually directly shoot your own ball in to keep shooting as a sacrifice or,
    • you have to shoot opponents ball in a combo shot to make your ball in order to keep going (as outlined in the next paragraph)?
  3. user1551121667billiardsforum on 2/28/2019 1:15:43 AM

    That section in the rules refers to actually pocketing your own ball ("cutting your own throat") in order to continue your inning at the table.

  4. user1551121667user1551121667 on 2/28/2019 7:44:00 AM

    I guess the answer I am actually trying to get is: Can I directly shoot the cue ball into my own ball to pocket it and not be considered a foul and can still keep shooting?

    In that same section it says:

    When shooting.the player must make the cue-ball first contact an opponents ball

    A little confusing for me is the first part. Is it meaning I can pocket my own ball to continue shooting by shooting an opponents ball into my ball causing my ball to be pocketed to keep shooting keeping with the second part opponents ball first?

    Or am I to understand it's either or?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Sink Your Own Last Ball in Cutthroat Pool

  • Title: Sink Your Own Last Ball in Cutthroat Pool
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/25/2019 11:07:48 AM
  • Last Updated: 2/26/2019 2:40:55 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)