log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Scratch on Final Ball In Cutthroat Billiards


Scratch on Final Ball In Cutthroat Billiards

When playing cutthroat and let's say you have some of your balls remaining and it's your turn to shoot for the win. If you shoot the last remaining opponents ball, but scratch, do you still win?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Scratch on Final Ball In Cutthroat Billiards

Replies & Comments

  1. Suebilliardsforum on 10/4/2006 11:59:54 AM

    Cutthroat is played with quite a few variants. For the question you have, the answer depends on whether you are playing on a coin table. If so, then you can't follow the usual penalty assessment for a scratch because it specifies that when you DO scratch, your opponents can each remove one of their balls and set it back in to play. Obviously on coin tables, this is not possible, and thus, you'll have to simply negotiate this rule before the game begins. (or go by 'house' rules if there are any.) SO - if you aren't on a coin table, then NO, you don't win.

    The other option for coin tables, the player who scratched selects one of their own balls to be pocketed automatically, and does so.

    Other variants are known to allow the next player ball-in-hand.

    Sue, I hope this clears things up for you, and if not, please hit back with more specific questions.

    Update: see here for another answer on what happens if you sink the cue ball after the last shot in cutthroat pool.

  2. Sueuser1516661064 on 1/22/2018 5:44:24 PM

    What if it is down to two players left with one ball each, and a player pockets the opponents ball - but the cue ball follows it in (after it has been pocketed). Is it game over as soon as the opponent ball goes in? Or is it a scratch where each player pulls a ball back out? Non-coin operated table, btw.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Scratch on Final Ball In Cutthroat Billiards

  • Title: Scratch on Final Ball In Cutthroat Billiards
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/4/2006 11:52:20 AM
  • Last Updated: 10/4/2006 11:52:49 AM
  • Last Updated By: Sue