log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocket Your Own Ball on the Break Shot a Foul?


Pocket Your Own Ball on the Break Shot a Foul?

Is pocketing your own ball on the break shot a foul in cutthroat pool?

For example, the players have drawn for numbers before break. First player breaks, pockets one of his balls as well as one opponent's.

What happens next?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocket Your Own Ball on the Break Shot a Foul?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1537485600user1537396724 on 9/25/2018 10:46:06 AM

    Play continues. I'm not sure why you think a foul has taken place.

  2. user1537485600billiardsforum on 9/25/2018 3:09:19 PM

    It is the break shot. No issues with the scenario you described. From the rules of cutthroat billiards:

    A player's turn continues so long as they pocket an opponent's ball with each shot. A shooter can even pocket their own ball without sinking an opponent's ball, thereby weakening their own chances to win in exchange for continuing their turn. This circumstance is generally called "cutting one's own throat".

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocket Your Own Ball on the Break Shot a Foul?

  • Title: Pocket Your Own Ball on the Break Shot a Foul?
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/20/2018 4:20:01 PM
  • Last Updated: 9/25/2018 3:15:01 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)