log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocket Your Last Ball Then Opponent's Last Ball, Who Wins?


Pocket Your Last Ball Then Opponent's Last Ball, Who Wins?

What if there are two balls remaining on the table, one mine and one my opponent's.

I can't sink his ball alone, but I am able to sink mine and then sink his.

Is this a legal move in cutthroat pool?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocket Your Last Ball Then Opponent's Last Ball, Who Wins?

Replies & Comments

  1. Big Mikebilliardsforum on 1/13/2019 4:10:43 AM

    The exact scenario is not clear. As you have described it, it could be two distinct situations:

    1. You pocket your last ball on the first shot. You pocket your opponent's last ball on a second, separate shot.
    2. You take only one shot, and you pocket your ball first, and then your opponent's ball also drops into the pocket afterward, but in the same shot.

    At first I thought that I would need to understand exactly which scenario you are talking about. But the more I thought about it, you would win in either case, as far as I know:

    As long as you called the ball and the pocket correctly, you would win the game based on the details of the "Innings" section in the Rules of Cutthroat Pool (emphasis mine):

    If a player sinks his last ball he can still win the game if he runs the table out in the same inning.

    ...and:

    A player may shoot at any ball that they choose, but before shooting they must call the ball and the pocket. They need not call any detail such as kisses, caroms, combinations, or cushions, all of which are legal. A legally pocketed ball entitles the shooter to continue.

    This means that even if you pocket your own last ball, you can still win as long as you clear the rest of the table in the same inning.

    If anyone else knows of a different answer for either of these cutthroat pool scenarios, please drop an answer below.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocket Your Last Ball Then Opponent's Last Ball, Who Wins?

  • Title: Pocket Your Last Ball Then Opponent's Last Ball, Who Wins?
  • Author: (Mike Farah)
  • Published: 7/7/2009 6:37:37 PM
  • Last Updated: 1/13/2019 4:07:28 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)