log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Pocketing the 9-Ball Early


Penalty for Pocketing the 9-Ball Early

What is the penalty for pocketing the 9-ball early?

Player #1 makes a legal break and no balls are pocketed. Player #2 has a clean shot on the 1-ball, but instead chooses to pocket the 9-ball. It is ruled a foul and the 9-ball is spotted and player #1 is awarded ball in hand.

Is this correct?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Pocketing the 9-Ball Early

Replies & Comments

  1. user1549779767billiardsforum on 2/10/2019 5:04:54 AM

    Assuming I understand your scenario correctly, I would say you are correct in how it plays out.

    I suspect that if the player pocketed the 9-ball, they would have committed the standard foul of "wrong ball first".

    Relevant sections from the World Pool-Billiards Official 9-ball rules:

    2.7 Standard Fouls

    If the shooter commits a standard foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.

    6.2 Wrong Ball First

    The first object ball contacted by the cue ball on each shot must be the lowest-numbered ball remaining on the table.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Pocketing the 9-Ball Early

  • Title: Penalty for Pocketing the 9-Ball Early
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/9/2019 10:22:48 PM
  • Last Updated: 2/10/2019 3:58:36 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)