log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Ball in Hand After Missing the Rack on the Break Shot in 9-Ball


Ball in Hand After Missing the Rack on the Break Shot in 9-Ball

In 9-ball pool, what happens when you miss the rack entirely on the break shot?

Specifically, when, on the break, the cue ball misses the rack entirely, where is the cue ball-in-hand placed for the next shot?

Behind the head string or anywhere on the table?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Ball in Hand After Missing the Rack on the Break Shot in 9-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Barry Fbilliardsforum on 10/8/2019 4:10:53 AM

    It depends on what rules you want to follow.

    According to Wikipedia:

    If the player who breaks fails to make a legal break, the opponent can either demand a re-rack and become the breaker, or continue to play as if it had been an ordinary foul, depending upon the rules of the event.

    But the World Pool-Billiard Association 9 Ball rules don't mention the choice of re-rack. They simply say it's a foul, and when a player fouls, the opponent gets ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.

    The World Pool-Billiard Association is the official governing body for the nine ball in North America, so I tend to follow those rules first and foremost. Thus, it's ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Ball in Hand After Missing the Rack on the Break Shot in 9-Ball

  • Title: Ball in Hand After Missing the Rack on the Break Shot in 9-Ball
  • Author: (Barry F.)
  • Published: 9/23/2019 12:40:20 PM
  • Last Updated: 10/8/2019 4:05:10 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)