log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

APA 9-Ball Scoring when Sinking the 9-Ball on the Break


APA 9-Ball Scoring when Sinking the 9-Ball on the Break

So last week at my local APA 9 ball League I break and snap the 9 immediately in the cross table corner, the 5 makes its way into a side pocket, and the 1 ball comes to the close table corner nearest where I broke off of a rail.

Obvious 9 on the snap plus 2 balls pocketed for 4 points, he racks I break again. Or so i thought...

There is suddenly some commotion coming from the score keepers. The opposing team captain is keeping score and stating that since the 9 ball dropped first that is an immediate end of game and any balls that fall after that become dead balls. My team captain is disagreeing.

Opposition Captain grabs his phone to call the League Operator (the LO) who just so happens to be his best friend and on the same team (although not in attendance). My captain calls the Division Representative.

LO states that they were reviewing the rule book the week before and decided that is how it should be scored. Division Rep states that if it is a legal break all balls pocketed should count regardless of order they fall. Also states that if LO wants to change a bylaw for his area that it should be presented to all teams and updated bylaws should be approved through St. Louis. (the bylaws currently available for download via area apa web site are from feb 2016)

After a lengthy delay my captain begrudgingly agrees to allow that the match to continue under protest with only 2 points scored for the 9ball from the rack.

Eventually I lose needing 4 balls. 34-46

After my match I locate a rule book and try to check just for clarification of the rule and even to this day am having a hard time seeing am clear definition for the proper scoring of the instance.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ArlingtonAPAloser

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

APA 9-Ball Scoring when Sinking the 9-Ball on the Break

Replies & Comments

  1. APAloserbilliardsforum on 5/2/2018 10:24:49 PM

    I couldn't figure out it one way or the other from the APA rule-book's section on pocketing the 9-ball on the break.

    We reached out to a few folks to try to get you a good answer on this scenario. Stay tuned.

  2. APAloserAPAloser on 5/2/2018 11:01:04 PM

    Your response is very much appreciated.

  3. APAloserskip on 5/29/2018 7:31:46 PM

    I am APA referee trained, in Portland, OR (but not a currently active ref). In my league, it has always been that "all balls dropped count". If the league owner wants to change the rules, it should be in the league bylaws or rules, in print, and NOT made up on-the-fly.

    The logic is that the shot isn't over until everything stops. So with that logic, all balls were made "on the shot".

  4. APAloserAPAloser on 5/30/2018 10:09:27 AM

    That hits on one of the points that I made to no avail.

    If the 9-ball drops, that ends the game, they were saying. So did that mean if the 9 ball went in, then the cue ball, it was not a scratch foul since I had already pocketed the 9-ball?

    They were not impressed but at the same time would not be reasoned with regarding the other pocketed balls.

    This has come up a couple times that I have seen in the last few weeks and it has been hotly contested each time both ways with teams trying to use it in their favor.

    It really is sad that the league operator mentioned has let things be twisted and turned in favor of friendship over fairness. Yet another example of why this league is slowly dwindling away.

    Appreciate your input @skip!

  5. APAloserskip on 5/30/2018 3:46:46 PM

    So, the cue ball has to go in before the nine to count as a scratch. I love it! I'm going to use that next time...

    If they want to insist on such a stupid idea, I would insist on video proof of the order the balls fell. :)

    Its always sad when petty BS takes the fun out of a sport.

    Good luck.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

APA 9-Ball Scoring when Sinking the 9-Ball on the Break

  • Title: APA 9-Ball Scoring when Sinking the 9-Ball on the Break
  • Author:
  • Published: 5/2/2018 2:28:39 PM
  • Last Updated: 5/2/2018 10:19:49 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)