log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

What if I Pocket My Opponent's Ball but None of My Own?


What if I Pocket My Opponent's Ball but None of My Own?

In eight ball, is it a foul if I only pocket my opponent's ball and fail to pocket my own ball?

Yes, the cue ball hit my own object ball first, and I didn't scratch.

Here's what I need to know about this scenario:

  • What is the penalty if I pocket my opponents ball without pocketing mine during that same shot?
  • Does my opponent get ball-in-hand?
  • Does his ball get spotted?

I just want to know the specifics on what happens when my opponent's inning begins.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

What if I Pocket My Opponent's Ball but None of My Own?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1191937883billiardsforum on 10/19/2007 8:03:05 PM

    Summary:

    • There is no "penalty". Your inning is simply over and play passes to your opponent.
    • Your opponent must play the cue ball from where it lies on the table.
    • Your opponent's object ball (which you pocketed) remains pocketed.

    Detail:

    Since you've hit your own object ball first and didn't scratch, it is not a foul if one or more of your opponent's object balls fall into a pocket.

    You mentioned that you hit your own object ball first, which generally makes the shot legal (e.g. you didn't commit a "standard foul"). You've simply failed to pocket your called ball in the called pocket, so play passes to your opponent, who plays the cue ball from wherever it came to rest on the pool table.

    Here are the World Pool-Billiard Association 8 Ball rules which apply (emphasis mine):

    1. There is no need to call anything besides your intended object ball and pocket. No other detail is needed.

      1.6 Standard Call Shot

      In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.

      [...]

    2. Because you didn't pocket your called ball, your inning is over. Rule 3.5 says that you only remain at the table if you legally pocket your called ball. Also, since you contacted your own object ball first and didn't scratch, so the shot was free of "standard fouls", thus, your opponent does NOT get ball-in-hand and must play the cue ball from where it lies.

      3.5 Continuing Play

      The shooter remains at the table as long as he continues to legally pocket called balls, or he wins the rack by pocketing the eight ball.

    3. Section 3.7, Spotting Balls, tells us that incidentally pocketed object balls are never spotted back on the table.

      3.7 Spotting Balls (8 Ball)

      If the eight ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break, it will be spotted or the balls will be re-racked. (See 3.3 Break Shot and 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

What if I Pocket My Opponent's Ball but None of My Own?

  • Title: What if I Pocket My Opponent's Ball but None of My Own?
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/9/2007 1:51:23 PM
  • Last Updated: 12/10/2022 3:53:15 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)