log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

What Happens if you use Opponent's Ball as 1st Ball in a Combo Shot on the 8 Ball?


What Happens if you use Opponent's Ball as 1st Ball in a Combo Shot on the 8 Ball?

What is the penalty when you are on the 8 ball and the cue ball hits your opponent's ball first, and pockets it?

Is that a loss of game?

Here's a step-by-step sequence for this shot scenario:

  1. Player has pocketed all of their object balls and is now on the 8 ball
  2. Player calls the 8 ball and the intended pocket.
  3. Player shoots the cue ball into an opponents ball first, which is then intended to hit the 8 ball and pocket it.
  4. The opponent's ball falls into a pocket instead.
  5. The 8 ball may or may not fall into the intended pocket.

So, when you are shooting for the 8 ball, but you pocket one of your opponents balls by hitting his ball first, what is the penalty?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

What Happens if you use Opponent's Ball as 1st Ball in a Combo Shot on the 8 Ball?

Replies & Comments

  1. excaliberbilliardsforum on 1/21/2007 10:27:35 AM

    This question is a duplicate of Can You Use Opponent's Ball to Sink the 8 Ball?

    See the first answer there. It details the outcome, which depends on whether the 8 ball is actually pocketed or not. It also lists all of the applicable sections of the WPA 8 ball rules which apply.

  2. excaliberkyle on 1/21/2007 12:55:44 PM

    The only time you lose while shooting the eight ball is when you:

    • sink the eight ball in the wrong pocket,
    • sink the eight ball and commit a "standard foul"

    In this case, it is a loss, as the shooter sank the eight ball on an illegal stroke.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

What Happens if you use Opponent's Ball as 1st Ball in a Combo Shot on the 8 Ball?

  • Title: What Happens if you use Opponent's Ball as 1st Ball in a Combo Shot on the 8 Ball?
  • Author: (Zach Anderson)
  • Published: 1/21/2007 12:27:50 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2022 5:17:50 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)