log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

What Happens if the Cue Ball Hits a Solid and Stripe at the Exact Same Time?


What Happens if the Cue Ball Hits a Solid and Stripe at the Exact Same Time?

I know that in 8 ball, the cue ball must make contact with an object ball from your group first, and that the rule for combination shots is that "combination shots must be off of your own balls first".

What happens when the cue ball hits my ball and an opponent's ball at the exact same time?

It is a scenario where you want to split the hit to make a shot and you must hit both your ball and one of the opponent's balls at the same time to make the shot.

Is it a legal shot when you call that you will hit both object balls at the same time?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

What Happens if the Cue Ball Hits a Solid and Stripe at the Exact Same Time?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1164025454billiardsforum on 11/20/2006 7:05:02 PM

    As you mentioned, the rule in 8 ball is that the cue ball must contact an object ball from your own group first. There is no exception to this rule.

    Hitting an opponent's ball and your ball at the exact same time is not the most common occurrence, but it can happen. This is called a "split shot" or a "split hit" with balls from opposing groups, and is a foul according to 8 ball rules.

    When your cue ball hits a solid and a stripe at the exact same time, it doesn't matter that you called the shot that way. It makes no difference how you called it.

    But yes, in some rare instances, you may strike your object ball and an opponent's object ball at the same time. In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal.

    So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul, but your turn (your inning) ends unless you also sunk your own ball into the called pocket. Regardless, all pocketed balls remain in the pockets.

    If the match is presided over by a referee, and they observe that the cue ball hit the opponent's ball slightly before your own object ball, then it's a foul for you.

    Generally, it's best to avoid shots like these where possible.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

What Happens if the Cue Ball Hits a Solid and Stripe at the Exact Same Time?

  • Title: What Happens if the Cue Ball Hits a Solid and Stripe at the Exact Same Time?
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/20/2006 12:24:14 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/22/2022 7:18:50 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)