log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Some Eight Ball What If


Some Eight Ball What If

What happens if you pocket your ball but in doing so u pocket your opponents ball BUT you hit your ball first is it still your turn?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Some Eight Ball What If

Replies & Comments

  1. excaliberbilliardsforum on 2/9/2007 7:25:41 PM

    Hi Excaliber,

    As strange as it may sound, the scenario you have described is not a legal shot.

    A legal stroke occurs when the shooting player hits the cue ball, then the cue ball contacts one of the balls from that player's group of balls, then either the player pockets one of their own balls (not necessarily the one hit) or any numbered ball hits a cushion.

    So, if you pocket your own ball then pocket your opponent's ball, your inning is over.

  2. excaliberexcaliber on 2/9/2007 11:09:05 PM

    Thanks.

    Now another conflict we got in to the other day...

    1. I was on the 8 ball and it was my friends shot and he still had one ball left on the table and the cue ball was behind his ball and to keep me from getting a good shot at the 8 he taps the cue into his ball so that both balls move like an half inch if that, so that i had no shot is that legal or isn't there some rule saying it has to go a certain distance?
    2. whats the rule on somebody accidentally moving a ball? some people have accidentally move the ball but we just re-spot it is that right or whats supposed to happen there?
  3. excaliberkyle on 2/11/2007 2:31:10 AM

    The first shot sounds good playing BCA rules if you called the pocket your ball went into, any other ball made (except the eight) stays down and you keep shooting. Hitting a rail with any ball after contacting one of your balls first is needed too make a legal shot (besides making the shot).

  4. excaliberexcaliber on 2/18/2007 7:09:33 PM

    thanks kyle do u know the rule on my other questions?

  5. excaliberbilliardsforum on 2/18/2007 7:47:28 PM

    Are you talking about when your cue stick accidentally hits a ball as you are pulling it away after a shot, or your elbow accidentally hits a ball?

    If so, it would indeed be considered a fault. Here is BCA's take on faults in the 8 ball rules:

    When one player commits a fault, the other player gets "ball in hand", that is, they may place the cue ball anywhere on the table before playing their next shot. This is one area of substantial disagreement in 8-ball rules: some (including those of the BCA) play that (after the break) the cue ball may be placed anywhere, and shoot at anything. Other rule sets suggest that the player with "ball in hand" may only place the cue ball in the "kitchen", and must shoot out of the "kitchen" before hitting any ball. This means that they may not shoot at a ball inside the "kitchen" directly. However, if all their balls are inside the "kitchen", they can request that the one closest to the head string be placed on the head spot.

    I'm not totally sure if this is the type of thing you are talking about.

  6. excaliberexcaliber on 2/19/2007 10:07:45 AM

    yep thats exactly what i wanted to know thanks guys.

  7. excaliberguest on 5/20/2007 9:46:27 AM

    As strange as it may sound, the scenario you have described is not a legal shot.

    A legal stroke occurs when the shooting player hits the cue ball, then the cue ball contacts one of the balls from that player's group of balls, then either the player pockets one of their own balls (not necessarily the one hit) or any numbered ball hits a cushion.

    So, if you pocket your own ball then pocket your opponent's ball, your inning is over.

    Would you help me see the logic in interpreting the rules, with regard to pocketing opponent's balls on a shot (I note that for one's own balls, there IS an explicit rule regarding additional pocketed balls, and it says they remain pocketed as long if I make my called shot; there is no loss of turn implied). If I make my called shot, so that I have clearly complied with the first requirement for a legal shot, why is the event of pocketing an opponent's ball a IN ADDITION to my called shot, interpreted to be a loss of turn?

    Also, does this extend to the 8 ball: if while pocketing the 8 ball in the called pocket, is it OK if I also pocket an opponent's numbered ball?

  8. excalibersam h on 1/2/2008 12:13:29 AM

    as long as ur not on the eight ball than if ur ball falls first it is still ur shot . if ur ball is the eight than u loose. if your playing bar rules

  9. excaliberguest on 1/6/2008 7:09:04 PM

    ok newbies let me set you all straight on this subject. to be a legally pocketed ball, in which case you stay at the table and continue your turn, all you have to do is 1. contact a ball of your group(solids or stripes) first and pocket it into the designated pocket. nothing else matters. every other ball could go in on the same shot and it matters not. you don't have to call anything but BALL AND POCKET. as far as safety play is concerned there are 2 components of a legal safety shot. they are 1.strike a ball of your group first and 2. drive ANY ball into a rail or into a pocket. obviously, if during this shot, you pocket the 8 it is a loss of game and if you pocket the cueball it is a foul and ball in hand for your oponent. NOTE: this is the rules in most leagues such as BCA,VNEA,etc. however, there are leagues like the APA(Busch league of old) that allow "slop" in which case you don't have to designate a specific pocket for your ball to go in. you still have to hit your group first or it is a foul, but you can slam and bang and hope one of yours goes in and it's a good shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Some Eight Ball What If

  • Title: Some Eight Ball What If
  • Author: (Zach Anderson)
  • Published: 2/8/2007 10:28:06 PM