log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Solid to stripe to solid combo?

Solid to stripe to solid combo?

In standard American 8 ball games (bars, casual games, etc)...

Let's say I am solids.

Is it permissible to play a solid -> stripe -> solid combo?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Solid to stripe to solid combo?

Replies & Comments

  1. TNRebFenwick on 9/16/2012 5:57:25 AM

    According to the rules yes. When ever the word bar or pub is mentioned it sends up a red flag. If I've said it once I've said it a dozen times. Establish the rules before the game begins.

  2. TNRebTNReb on 9/16/2012 4:48:54 PM

    Thanks for the replies to both threads Fenwick.

  3. TNRebZeke on 9/17/2012 9:09:48 AM

    Fenwick's of course correct.

    However, one issue I've encountered is that the "house rules" - can be at odds with the actual rules - and those promulgating house rules, don't even know it !

    If you're playing for more than the cost of a game or a 3-dollar beer, ask that the rules be shown to you and be written - or to see them BEFORE you play.

    "Written rules" are typically posted on a wall somewhere. Written "house rules" are tough to dispute. Verbal rules are something to avoid at all costs. Just to be on the safe side, keep the written rules in your car or in your cue case.

    Unfortunately, even written rules are open to local interpretations. Usually, the cheaper the beer, the more varied the interpretations ;-)

  4. TNRebMitch Alsup on 9/17/2012 11:53:50 AM
    • Your->his->yours->pocket - is perfectly fine under tournament rules ('his' can either be his ball or the 8-ball; '->' can be combination or carom)
    • Your->his->yours->pocket - is end of inning under "no slop" rules
    • Making the 8-ball as: 8-ball->his->pocket on a carom is also illegal (and loss of game) under "no slop" rules.
  5. TNRebivor1987 on 9/26/2012 6:20:46 PM

    The player is solids, as long as he called the correct ball and the pocket and there was no other foul during the shot. Here's the world-standardized rule.

  6. TNRebPunisher on 11/26/2012 9:05:32 PM

    In tournaments it is legal. However most house rules say that this combo type is called "dirty" and will result in the other person shooting afterwards.

  7. TNRebgibson on 11/27/2012 10:56:46 AM

    A lot of people don't mind as long as you call the shot in detail. Others play be the rule that you don't intentionally move the opponents balls.

    Always apply the rule that "Playing a stranger in a strange place for money may be hazardous to your health and wallet"

  8. TNReballanpsand on 5/2/2013 9:34:57 AM

    As mentioned - for any "weird" type of shot (basically anything that is outside of shooting/banking straight to the pocket or a simple two ball combination), ask the other player and at least make sure there is no objection. Of course, if you want to be a little aggressive in cases where he says it's not legal - politely request a copy of the rules, or the opinion of any nearby regular player.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Solid to stripe to solid combo?

  • Title: Solid to stripe to solid combo?
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/15/2012 7:52:29 PM