log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Sinking 8 Ball on Break

Sinking 8 Ball on Break

Can you help us figure out what happens in 8 ball when the player pockets the 8 ball on the break shot, according to official 8 ball rules?

So what happens in this case? When the person who breaks happens to sink the 8 ball on that break shot, do they:

  1. automatically win, or;
  2. automatically lose, or;
  3. re-spot and keep playing, or;
  4. something else?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Sinking 8 Ball on Break

Replies & Comments

  1. cuebaldsmichael on 6/18/2007 12:51:42 AM

    This question is a duplicate of Sinking Eight Ball On Opening Break. See the first answer to that question for a fully detailed breakdown of the specific WPA rules that apply to this situation.

    But in short, it is neither a win, nor a loss (assuming the player doing the break shot doesn't also scratch).

    The World Pool-Billiard Association rules which apply:

    3.3 Break Shot

    The following rules apply to the break shot:


    • (e) Pocketing the eight ball on a legal break shot is not a foul. If the eight ball is pocketed, the breaker has the option of

      1. re-spotting the eight ball and accepting the balls in position, or
      2. re-breaking.

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play/

    If the player does also scratch, then it's the similar to the above, except it's the opponent's choice as to which of the options happen next.


    • (f) If the breaker pockets the eight ball and scratches (see definition 8.6 Scratch), the opponent has the option of:
      1. re-spotting the eight ball and shooting with cue ball in hand behind the head string; or
      2. re-breaking.

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play/

  2. cuebaldcutthroat on 7/15/2007 1:30:24 PM

    According to the official BCA 8 ball Rules:

    4.08 8-Ball Pocketed on the Break

    If the 8-ball is pocketed on the break, breaker may ask for a re-rack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.

  3. cuebaldNolesManMike on 7/28/2007 1:32:12 AM

    I always played it as the player who knocks the eight ball on the break loses, but that's when you are playing on coin-op pool tables at, say, a bowling alley or game room because you cant re-spot it or rack it up again.

    I'm only 17 years old so I can't play at a pool hall with nice pockets otherwise.

  4. cuebaldkellystick on 7/31/2007 1:18:50 PM

    In the APA leagues, making the 8 ball on the break shot wins the game, unless you scratch the cue ball or send the cue ball off of the pool table and onto the the floor.

  5. cuebaldjags on 8/1/2007 10:37:03 AM

    Every place I've ever played (including Pennsylvania, Florida, and Virginia), the house rules were that if you pocket the 8 ball on the break, you win, whether or not you are on a coin-op table.

    My grandfather would practice by trying to make the 8 ball on the break shot, and could do it about once out of five times.

  6. cuebaldMarionRich on 11/20/2007 3:05:48 PM

    Sinking the 8-ball on break shot wins the game.

    If it's your first time pocketing the eight ball on the break shot, then you drink until you black out (in Michigan, anyways).

  7. cuebaldDragonmaster on 7/3/2021 3:43:55 AM

    If it were up to me, I would say that if the 8-ball gets pocketed on the break shot, then it stays pocketed, and the first player to sink their remaining seven balls wins.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Sinking 8 Ball on Break

  • Title: Sinking 8 Ball on Break
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/18/2007 12:50:07 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/30/2022 3:18:34 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)