log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Sink 8 Ball Then Scratch Cue Ball


Sink 8 Ball Then Scratch Cue Ball

What happens when you pocket the 8 ball and then scratch on the cue ball?

I made the final shot to sink the 8 ball in the called pocket, but after the 8 ball went into the pocket, the cue ball followed it into the pocket.

This is an 8 ball rules debate that my friends and I are having. I looked in this subsection but did not find a direct answer to the question.

If someone could shed some light on what happens in this scenario, I would truly appreciate it.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Sink 8 Ball Then Scratch Cue Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. md0ggyd0gbilliardsforum on 7/9/2007 10:05:11 PM

    You lose the game if you scratch the cue ball when pocketing the 8 ball.

    A cue ball scratch is a "standard foul" in 8 ball pool, and when you commit a "standard foul" on the same shot in which you pocket the 8 ball, it is a loss of game.

    WPA 8 ball rule 3.9 tells us that a cue ball scratch is indeed a standard foul in 8 ball:

    3.9 Standard Fouls (8 ball)

    [...]

    The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

    • 6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table
    • [...]

    WPA 8 ball rule 3.8 Losing the Rack tells us that it's a loss of game to commit a standard foul while pocketing the 8 ball:

    3.8 Losing the Rack (8 ball)

    The shooter loses if he:

    • (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    • [...]
  2. md0ggyd0ghettie on 7/9/2007 10:16:22 PM

    Yes, that is correct. There is a specific section in the BCA 8 ball rules about pocketing the 8 ball in general. In that subsection, it notes that loss of game occurs when the player:

    ...Fouls when pocketing the 8-ball.

    Of course, scratching the cue ball is a foul.

    The APA rules mirror this, in the section called how to lose in the APA 8 ball rules:

    When playing the 8-ball, a player scratches the cue ball.

    Also, some other rules (including the simplified rules on this site) for playing the 8 ball note the following:

    If [the 8 ball] is shot in to the wrong pocket, or the cue ball is pocketed, or there is any other fault, he/she loses the game.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Sink 8 Ball Then Scratch Cue Ball

  • Title: Sink 8 Ball Then Scratch Cue Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/9/2007 9:50:26 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/30/2022 4:35:39 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)