log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Shooting Ball Other Than Cue Ball Accidentally


Shooting Ball Other Than Cue Ball Accidentally

Is it a foul to shoot a ball other than the cue ball? Other balls may even go into the pocket and/or hit another ball, but nothing has hit or touched the cue ball.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Shooting Ball Other Than Cue Ball Accidentally

Replies & Comments

  1. guestZeke on 11/13/2013 7:59:39 PM

    I don't see how it couldn't be a foul.

    Had I not done it myself more than once, I'd ask, "Say-what"?

    Of course, only after a beer or three.

  2. guestFenwick on 12/22/2013 11:30:30 AM

    Accidently or not it would be lose of game. I've shot at the wrong ball more then once playing 9 ball. Skipped a ball recently playing 8 ball. Had the 1 ball on the table and shot at the 8? I never cued up on a object ball by mistake that I can recall. To take it a step further, unless someone was drunk it would be a forfeit and un-sportsman like a action in leagues or tournaments. If they are drunk it time to find the door! Just like raking the balls in a match. Raking the balls is when you take your cue and sweep all the balls out of frustration. Had a grown man do exactly that in leagues a few weeks ago. Forfeit.

  3. guestZeke on 1/1/2014 9:35:26 AM

    While I respect Fenwick's interpretation of what constitutes a forfeit - he also states he never cued up an object ball - which WAS member # 32's actual question (not, as Fenwick addresses, "Playing a 'wrong ball' - as in playing 8-ball and not seeing one of his own balls still on the table - while shooting the 8."

    After checking the "general rules" - as well as the "game specific rules," I can't even find a rule suggesting a forfeit... Foul? Yes. Forfeit? No.

    I am sure Fenwick is correct in stating a forfeit is the penalty, I just can't find it in the rules.

    Anyone?

  4. guestFenwick on 1/1/2014 2:16:28 PM

    6.6 Touched Ball It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls. If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

    And from someone else. I've run a few tournaments...I'm not gonna look this one up.... ...I'm calling this 'loss of game'

    I found more looking at, world standardized rules of pool and billiards. I'll step aside and give it a rest.

  5. guestZeke on 1/1/2014 7:58:30 PM

    So the rules make it a foul - but you make it a forfeit? I don't understand...

  6. guestFenwick on 1/2/2014 5:32:12 AM

    And from someone else.

    I've run a few tournaments...I'm not gonna look this one up....

    ...I'm calling this 'loss of game'

    Forget about it. Whatever Zeke says is fine with me. DILLIGAS?

  7. guestZeke on 1/2/2014 7:48:17 AM

    Forget about what Fenwick?

  8. guestbilliardsforum on 1/9/2014 6:28:01 AM

    I've also read somewhere that "intentionally" hitting an object ball constitutes forefeit/loss of game, but I wonder how referees determine "intent" in this case? Anyone have any experience with this?

  9. guestZeke on 1/9/2014 2:53:55 PM

    I suspect games played for beers, a few bucks, and leagues like the one I play in - where all four players are good friends in and out of the private billiard room in one of our homes - would opt for the foul rule - not the forfeit penalty.

    But if there's big money, e.g., $20+ a rack or lots of "outsiders" competing for trophy's and prizes - the forfeit rule would be invoked. Not because the fouls are "intentional" but as you suggest, it becomes impossible to know a "stranger's" intent.

    Televised, Vegas-type competitions with BIG money involved - EVERYTHING is a forfeit ;)

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Shooting Ball Other Than Cue Ball Accidentally

  • Title: Shooting Ball Other Than Cue Ball Accidentally
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/13/2013 4:23:12 PM