log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Shooting at 8 Ball and Don't Hit Any Balls


Shooting at 8 Ball and Don't Hit Any Balls

We are playing "ball in hand" eight ball rules.

What happens when you are shooting for the eight ball but you miss and you don't hit any balls?

Do you lose the game or do you get ball in hand?

Shooting at 8 Ball and Don't Hit Any Balls

Replies & Comments

  1. user1510197199billiardsforum on 11/9/2017 5:35:14 AM

    If you fail to hit the 8 ball, you have committed a foul, and the other player gets ball-in-hand.

    You would only lose the game if you foul and pocketed the 8 ball. If you simply miss the 8-ball but it remains on the playing surface, the game continues.

    BCA 8-ball rules state that loss of game occurs if you foul while pocketing the 8-ball - which in your case, you didn't.

    This scenario is actually spelled out in the VNEA 8-Ball rules:

    If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Shooting at 8 Ball and Don't Hit Any Balls

  • Title: Shooting at 8 Ball and Don't Hit Any Balls
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/8/2017 10:13:20 PM
  • Last Updated: 11/9/2017 5:28:52 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)