log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Scratching on the First Ball Pocketed on an Open Table After Break Shot


Scratching on the First Ball Pocketed on an Open Table After Break Shot

What happens if a player scratches when pocketing the first ball on an open table after the break shot?

For example, the opponent breaks and no balls are pocketed on the break shot. I then target a ball and pocket it, but I also scratch.

Is it still "open table" for my opponent, or does the pocketed ball mean that I am now assigned that group (solids or stripes), despite losing my turn due to the scratch?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Scratching on the First Ball Pocketed on an Open Table After Break Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. BlaineMarionRich on 11/20/2007 3:01:47 PM

    In this scenario, I believe the table is still open when your opponent's inning starts.

    Here is the summary of how the relevant sections of the World Pool-Billiard Association 8 ball rules apply to your scenario:

    1. Rule 6.1 says that Cue Ball Scratch of off the Table is a "standard foul" (meaning you've failed to legally pocket the ball due to the scratch).

      6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table

      If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, the shot is a foul.

    2. Rule 3.9 says that committing a standard foul, play passes to the opponent with ball in hand anywhere on the playing surface.

      3.9 Standard Fouls

      If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)

      The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

      • 6.1 - Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table
      • [...]
    3. Rule 3.4 tells us that if a player fails to "legally pocket a ball" while the table is open, the table remains open when the opponent's inning begins.

      3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups

      Before groups are determined, the table is said to be "open", and before each shot, the shooter must call his intended ball. If the shooter legally pockets his called ball, the corresponding group becomes his, and his opponent is assigned the other group. If he fails to legally pocket his called ball, the table remains open and play passes to the other player. When the table is “open”, any object ball may be struck first except the eight ball.

  2. Blaineuser1199646544 on 1/6/2008 7:26:48 PM

    Yes, the table remains open after your cue ball scratch foul.

    Think about it—you didn't pocket a ball legally, and until a ball is pocketed legally, the table is still open.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Scratching on the First Ball Pocketed on an Open Table After Break Shot

  • Title: Scratching on the First Ball Pocketed on an Open Table After Break Shot
  • Author: (Blaine Johnson)
  • Published: 9/23/2007 8:32:48 PM
  • Last Updated: 12/10/2022 5:57:38 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)