log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Scratch While Shooting at the 8 Ball

Scratch While Shooting at the 8 Ball

What happens if you scratch while shooting at the 8 ball?

For example, if on the last shot of the game the 8 ball is pocketed and then the cue ball is pocketed all in the same shot, does the shooter win the game?

What if the cue ball sinks first followed by the 8-ball in the same shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Scratch While Shooting at the 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. user1500303457billiardsforum on 7/17/2017 5:36:33 PM

    Under American Pool Association (APA) 8-ball rules, the shooter loses the game.

    11 - WAYS TO LOSE:

    1. Your opponent pockets his numerical group and legally pockets the 8-ball.
    2. You pocket the 8-ball out-of-turn or knock it on the floor.
    3. When playing the 8-ball, you pocket the 8-ball in the wrong pocket or fail to properly mark the pocket where the 8-ball went in.
    4. You foul the cue ball and then pocket the 8-ball.
    5. When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. You lose whether or not you pocket the 8-ball.

    Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul.

    Source: http://media.poolplayers.com/TMRB/Team-Manual-English.pdf (page 51)

    Under WPBA 8 ball rules (the official base set of rules for North America), it is not a loss of game. According to WPBA rules, the opponent gets ball in hand anywhere on the table when you scratch on the 8-ball.

    3.8 Losing the Rack

    The shooter loses if he

    1. pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    2. pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    3. pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
    4. drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

    Source: wpapool.com/rules-of-play/#38-Losing-the-Rack

    Under (older) Billiard Congress of America 8-ball rules, the shooter's opponent has ball in hand, and the game continues.

    This is the same for both scenarios mentioned in your question.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Scratch While Shooting at the 8 Ball

  • Title: Scratch While Shooting at the 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/17/2017 10:57:49 AM
  • Last Updated: 7/17/2017 5:25:46 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)