log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Scratch on Shot Before Final Shot


Scratch on Shot Before Final Shot

What is the rule if you are on your last ball in 8 ball you sink your ball then scratch in the same shot. Would you lose the game because technically you are then on the 8 ball?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Scratch on Shot Before Final Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. guestbilliardsforum on 9/20/2007 10:54:21 AM

    I think what you are saying is that you are playing your second last ball. (The ball before you are on the final 8 ball.) You are asking that if you sink this second last ball, then scratch by having the cue ball roll in to a pocket, do you lose the game.

    The answer is no, this shot does not cause loss of game. The reason is that a single shot is not technically over (the shot on the second last ball, the ball before the 8 ball) until all balls on the table have come to rest, including the cue ball. In your example, the cue ball has not come to rest yet after you pocketed your legal ball, and thus, you are still technically on that shot.

    You do lose your turn, and your opponent's inning begins. Also, since this type of 8 ball foul does not require spotting of the balls you pocketed, your object ball remains pocketed. Incoming player, your opponent, gets ball in hand behind the string.

  2. guestbilliardsforum on 9/20/2007 8:28:35 PM

    Sorry...that should read that the opponent gets cue ball in hand anywhere on the table, and not just behind the line.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Scratch on Shot Before Final Shot

  • Title: Scratch on Shot Before Final Shot
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/19/2007 2:31:51 PM