log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocketing your last ball then scratching


Pocketing your last ball then scratching

Me and my buddy john were playing a round of 8-Ball for $5 and we came to a disagreement in the ruling of a shot. John has only has the 7 left. He shoots at the 7 and sinks it but scratches. Does this result in a loss of game because once he sinks the 7 he is on the 8 and scratches?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocketing your last ball then scratching

Replies & Comments

  1. guestquickshot on 6/4/2008 9:12:38 PM

    If he shoots at the 7 and sinks it and then scratches, it is your turn to shoot and you get ball in hand.

  2. guestbilliardsforum on 6/4/2008 9:18:33 PM

    Exactly - the essence of what quickshot is saying is that the current shot is not over until ALL balls come to a motionless rest on the table (or somewhere!) SO, your friend is technically not yet on that next ball. When all balls come to rest, that shot is over, you are up to bat, and the next shot finally begins when you actually execute your shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocketing your last ball then scratching

  • Title: Pocketing your last ball then scratching
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/4/2008 6:32:22 PM